Siddaramaiah takes oath as CM of Karnataka, Shivakumar as Deputy CM, and 8 ministers sworn-in

Among the 8 ministers, 3 are Scheduled Caste and 1 each is Scheduled Tribe, Muslim, Lingayat, Reddy, and Christian.

ByMahesh M Goudar

Published May 20, 2023 | 12:59 PM Updated May 20, 2023 | 1:59 PM

Siddaramaiah swearing in

In front of a roaring crowd, Siddaramaiah took oath as the 29th Chief Minister of Karnataka at a packed Kanteerava stadium in Bengaluru on Saturday, 20 May.

DK Shivakumar took oath as Deputy Chief Minister and eight more senior leader of Congress took oath as ministers.

Governor Thaawarchand Gehlot administered the oath of office and secrecy to Siddaramaiah and his new Council of Ministers as tall leaders of Congress and other parties shared the stage.

Siddaramaiah became the 29th chief minister of Karnataka after the reorganisation of the state.

Earlier in the day, as the stage was being set for the swearing-in ceremony of Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar in the heart of the city of Bengaluru, All India Congress Committee (AICC) President Mallikarjun Kharge had approved the names for the appointment of eight Cabinet ministers earlier the same day.

The eight ministers

AICC General Secretary (Organisation) KC Venugopal has announced the first list of eight MLAs, who were sworn in as Cabinet ministers in the new Siddaramaiah-led government.

Siddaramaiah swearing in

Siddaramaih, DK Shivakumar and eight ministers at the swearing-in ceremony in Bengaluru.

The eight MLAs are Koratagere MLA Dr G Parameshwara, Devanahalli MLA K H Muniyappa, BTM Layout MLA Ramalinga Reddy, Sarvagnanagar MLA KJ George, Babaleshwar MLA MB Patil, Yamakanmardi MLA Satish Jarkiholi, Chamarajpet MLA Zameer Ahmed Khan, and Chittapur MLA Priyank Kharge, who is the son of AICC chief Kharge.

Of the 12 Congress MLAs from Bengaluru, four were inducted into the Cabinet. It may be noted that all the eight MLAs were Cabinet ministers in the previous Congress governments.

While announcing the CLP leader, the party high command had said that a few MLAs would also take their oath as Cabinet ministers on 20 May.

Also Read: Here is what lies ahead for the new Karnataka government

Caste equations

The Congress has given representation to all the prominent religions, castes, and communities in its first eight-member Cabinet ministerial list announced on Saturday morning.

Priyanka Gandhi, DK Shivakumar, Rahul Gandhi and Siddaramaiah gearing up for the swearing-in

Priyanka Gandhi, DK Shivakumar, Rahul Gandhi and Siddaramaiah gearing up for the swearing-in.

Among the eight ministers, three are Scheduled Caste (SC) and one each is Scheduled Tribe (ST), Muslim, Lingayat, Reddy, and Christian.

Dr G Parameshwara, KH Muniyappa, and Priyank Kharge belong to SC, Satish Jarkiholi belongs to ST, MB Patil is from the Lingayat community, KJ George is Christian, Ramalinga Reddy belongs to the Reddy community, and Zameer Ahmed Khan is a Muslim.

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and DyCM DK Shivakumar are from Kuruba and Vokkaliga communities, respectively.

However, the party has given more prominence to South Karnataka over North Karnataka as of the eight ministers on the list, only three are from North Karnataka.

Also Read: Restrictions, diversions ahead of swearing-in ceremony on 20 May

Fight for deputy chief minister seat?

DK Shaviakumar swearing in

DK Shaviakumar with National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah and Makkal Needhi Maiam chief and film star Kamal Haasan.

Though the AICC high command has clearly announced that there will be a sole deputy chief minister, the pontiffs and leaders from various communities — mainly SC, Muslims, and Lingayat — are demanding the same post.

The SCs are demanding that the grand old party appoints either Muniyappa or Parameshwara, Lingayats are demanding to consider MB Patil, and Muslims are urging the AICC to consider either UT Khader or any senior leader from the religion for the post.

It may also be noted that Parameshwara, who previously served as deputy chief minister, has openly expressed dissent for not being appointed as the sole deputy chief minister.

“Earlier, I was deputy chief minister. So, I should be given the post of deputy chief minister in this tenure. DK Shivakumar alone can’t be said to be enough,” Parameshwara told reporters.

Also Read: Congress stakes claim to form government in Karnataka

“All the communities have supported the party in this election. It is not appropriate that only one person should be in power. The deputy chief minister should be appointed considering all the communities. The party has come to power with everyone’s leadership,” added Parameshwara.

Demanding a Lingayat be made deputy chief minister, Kudalasangama Panchamasali Peeta Pontiff Basava Jaya Mruthyunjaya Swami told reporters, “The party high command should consider Lingayats for deputy chief minister because 39 Congress MLAs from the community have been elected in the recently concluded elections.”

“Lingayats played a key role in bringing Congress back to power. If the party has any plans of appointing two more deputy chief ministers, then it should consider Lingayats for the post,” appealed the pontiff.

Also Read: As Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar tussle to be CM, others get in line