As Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar tussle to be chief minister, others get in queue

Former deputy chief minister G Parameshwara had expressed his readiness in taking up the responsibility of CM if the party top brass wished so.

ByBellie Thomas

Published May 17, 2023 | 5:21 PMUpdatedMay 17, 2023 | 6:28 PM

Shamanur Shivashankarappa wrote to Kharge to demand that the CM seat be given to a member of the Veerashaiva Lingayat community. (Twitter)

While the two Congress stalwarts Siddaramaiah and DK Shivakumar are in a game of tug-of-war for the chief minister’s seat, there are other leaders lobbying for the chief minister’s seat, deputy chief minister’s seat, and other Cabinet berths with AICC president Mallikarjun Kharge.

Former deputy chief minister G Parameshwara, on 16 May, had expressed his readiness to take up the responsibility if the party top brass wished so. “If the high command asks me to run the government, I am ready to do it.” Parameshwara stated.

However, while the Congress high command is yet to make its decision official, Siddaramaiah appears to be the party favourite.

Also read: Big Congress win busts BJP electoral prowess myths

Speaking up for the Veerashaiva Lingayat community

In the meanwhile, Shamanur Shivashankarappa, MLA and national president of Veerashaiva Mahasabha, had written to Kharge, demanding that one of the senior MLAs from the Veerashaiva Lingayat community, who have worked and contributed to the Congress party’s majority in the recently-held Assembly elections, should be given the post of the chief minister.

In his letter to Kharge, Shivashankarappa also mentioned that around 46 candidates from the community were granted Congress tickets to contest, out of which 34 candidates made it through, and that the success rate was 74 percent.

Also Read: BJP lost deposits in 31 constituencies, Congress in 12 

He also stated that Veerashaiva community members had played a key role in selecting smaller communities in 50 other constituencies where the traditional BJP voters shifted their loyalty to the Congress, thereby, enabling the grand old party to win 135 Assembly segments in the 224-member House.

Shivashankarappa stated that for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2024, the Congress party should ensure that the support of the Veerashaiva Lingayat community stays with them, which will eventually help the party elect the maximum number of MPs from the state and send them to the Centre.

Shivashankarappa urged Kharge to post a Veerashaiva Lingayat community leader as the chief minister and also requested him to accommodate as many Cabinet positions for the MLAs of the community.

Related: The national implications of the Karnataka election verdict

Pitch for Cabinet minister positions

Meanwhile, Shri Vikhyathananda Swami has written to the AICC president to grant Billava-Ediga Samudaya leaders, such as BK Hariprasad and Madhu Bangarappa, ministerial berths.

In another letter from the Dakshina Kannada District Muslim Union to the AICC president, it recommended the name of BK Hariprasad again for a ministerial position.

Basavajaya Mrityunjaya Swami, President of Kudalasangama Matha demanded that MLA Vijayanand Kashappanavar be given a ministerial post.

MLA Kashappanavar had supported the Panchamasali community when they fought many times for reservation, he stated in the letter to the AICC president.