Telangana CM Revanth Reddy allocates portfolios to his 11 Cabinet colleagues, keeps MAUD, Law & Order

Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka has been appointed the deputy chief minister and N Uttam Kumar Reddy has been appointed the home minister.

ByRaj Rayasam

Published Dec 07, 2023 | 5:27 PMUpdatedDec 09, 2023 | 5:17 PM

Telangana ministers

Portfolios have been allocated to the 11 ministers in the A Revanth Reddy Cabinet in Telangana. The chief minister has handed over a list, detailing the portfolios of each minister to Governor Tamilisai Soundararajan on Saturday, 9 December.

The chief minister was in Delhi on Friday, where he discussed the portfolio allocation with AICC general secretary KC Venugopal.

The chief minister has allocated to himself Municipal Administration & Urban Development, General Administration, Law & Order; and all other unallocated portfolios.

Deputy Chief Minister Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka got the important portfolios of Finance and Planning and Energy, while another senior minister, N Uttam Kumar Reddy, has been allotted Irrigation and Command Area Development (CAD), and Food and Civil Supplies.

Former deputy chief minister Damodar Rajanarsimha has got the portfolio of his choice: Health, Medical and Family Welfare, and Science and Technology.

Another senior minister Komatireddy Venkata Reddy will handle the Roads and Buildings, and the glamourous Cinematography. He was keen on heading the Irrigation Department.

Also Read: BRS elects KCR unanimously as its legislative party leader

IT to Sridhar Babu

The lone Brahmin minister, D Sridhar Babu, has the high-profile Information and Technology portfolio. Additionally, he will handle the Industries, Commerce, and Legislative affairs portfolios.

The portfolios were allocated to the ministers on Saturday, 9 December.

The portfolios were allocated to the ministers on Saturday, 9 December.

Ponguleti Srinivas Reddy, who waged a relentless battle against KCR, has been rewarded with the all-important Revenue Department besides Housing. As an add-on portfolio, he got Information and Public Relations too.

Former MP from Ponnam Prabhakar, who was one of the victims of the pepper spray attack by the then Vijayawada MP Lagadapati Rajagopal in Lok Sabha at the time of the division of the state, got the plum Transport portfolio. Prabhakar, who belongs to the BC community (Goud), got the BC Welfare Department too.

Another senior minister Konda Surekha from Warangal has the Environment and Forest portfolio besides the charge of Endowments, setting aside the speculation that she would be entrusted with the Women and Child Welfare portfolio, considered insignificant.

Danasari Anasuya alias Seethakka, the woman tribal leader from Mulugu, has been entrusted with important portfolios of Panchayat Raj and Rural Development including Rural Water Supply, Women and Child Welfare.

Thummala Nageswara Rao, who switched loyalty to the Congress from the BRS, got Agriculture, one of the key portfolios, besides Marketing, Cooperation, and Handlooms and Textiles.

Jupalli Krishna Rao, who had a running feud with KCR when he was in the BRS, got the Prohibition and Excise portfolio, one of the revenue-earning departments, besides Tourism and Culture and Archaeology.

Chief Minister Revanth Reddy can include six more ministers into Cabinet, which has a permitted strength of 18.