3 women each from Congress and BRS to join 3rd Telangana Assembly

The BRS and the Congress fielded seven women candidates each, whereas the BJP fielded nine women candidates.

ByDeepika Pasham

Published Dec 04, 2023 | 1:25 AMUpdatedDec 04, 2023 | 1:27 AM

From left: Danasari Anasuya (Seethakka), Yashaswini Mamidala, Konda Surekha, Sabitha Indra Reddy, and Lasya Nanditha Sayanna.

Even as there was a debate raging across the country over reservation for women in Legislative Assemblies and the Lok Sabha through the Women’s Reservation Bill, political parties in Telangana fielded women in much lower ratios.

For reference, the BRS and the Congress fielded seven women each in the Telangana Assembly elections, while the BJP had nine women candidates in the fray.

Of them, only six women across the Congress and the BRS made it to the Assembly. The BJP drew a nought.

In the Congress

Among the seven of the Congress’ women candidates, three won. Newcomer Yashaswini Mamidala defeated Dayakar Rao Errabelli of the BRS by a margin of 46,367 votes in Palakurthi.

Former MLA Konda Surekha won by a margin of 15,652 votes over Errabelli Pradeep Kumar Rao of the BJP in Warangal East.

Sitting MLA Danasari Anasuya Seethakka defeated Nagajyothi Bade of the BRS by a margin of 33,700 votes in Mulug.

However, not all Congress candidates were successful. P Vijaya Reddy lost by 22,010 votes to Danam Nagender, the sitting MLA of the BRS in Khairtabad.

In Secunderabad Cantonment, newcomer Venela Gaddar ended up third. Mogili Sunitha, too, finished third behind T Raja Singh of the BJP and Nand Kishore Vyas of the BRS in Goshamahal.

Saritha Thirupataiah lost to Bandla Krishna Mohan Reddy of the BRS by a margin of 7,036 votes in Gadwal.

Related: 23 SC/ST seats account for over a third of Congress tally

The BRS tally

Three women from the BRS won the polls. Education Minister Patlolla Sabitha Indra Reddy secured a decisive win in the Maheshwaram constituency, garnering 1,25,578 votes. She defeated the BJP’s Andela Sriramulu Yadav by a margin of 26,187 votes.

In Secunderabad Cantonment, the BRS’ Lasya Nanditha Sayanna emerged victorious. She secured 59,057 votes, constituting 47.43 percent of the vote share.

Kova Laxmi added to the party’s success by winning the Asifabad constituency, securing a total of 83,036 votes, or 44.97 percent of the vote share. Her victory was by a margin of 22,798 votes.

Meanwhile, Padma Devender Reddy M of the BRS came second in the Medak constituency with 76,969 votes.

Banoth Haripriya was defeated in Yellandu, So were Bade Nagajyothi and Gonigidi Sunitha in Mulugu and Alair, respectively.

The BJP’s score

The BJP announced nine candidates for the Assembly elections, with one coming second, while seven others securing the third position.

Megha Rani Agarwal came second in Charminar, losing by a margin of 22,853 votes. In Jagtial, Boga Shravani came third.

The other BJP candidates who secured the third position are Amurajula Sridevi in Bellampalli; Aruna Thara T in Jukkal; Annapurna Devi Aleti in Balkonda; Bodiga Shobha Galanna in Choppadandi; Kandula Sandhya Rani in Ramagundam; Rani Rudrama Reddy in Sircilla; and Kankanala Nivedita in Nagarjuna Sagar.