Average increase of 43% in assets of 324 MPs recontesting Lok Sabha polls: ADR analysis of last 5 years

It recorded the increase over the last five years in the assets of 324 MPs who have entered the poll fray again in this Lok Sabha elections.


Published May 29, 2024 | 9:23 PMUpdatedMay 29, 2024 | 9:24 PM

Lok Sabha.

There has been an average increase of 43 percent over the last five years in the assets of 324 MPs who have entered the poll fray again in this Lok Sabha elections, according to an analysis by a poll rights body.

The average assets of these MPs in 2019 was around ₹21.55 crore while in the current electoral cycle, the average asset value has increased “significantly” to ₹30.88 crore, marking an increase of ₹9.33 crore over the past five years, the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) said in a report.

It analysed the financial growth among Members of Parliament (MPs) recontesting in the 2024 general elections. The counting of votes for the seven-phase polls will be taken up on 4 June.

The percentage growth in assets for these 324 MPs between the 2019 and 2024 polls averages 43 percent, the ADR said. The report said a comparative analysis of party-wise average assets between 2019 and 2024 further elucidates this trend.

Also Read: 24 out of 32 Karnataka ministers have criminal cases, 31 are crorepatis, says ADR

Party wise list

It said among the major parties, the BJP saw a 39.18 percent increase in the average assets of its re-contesting 183 MPs (₹18.40 crore to ₹25.61 crore). It was 48.76 percent for 36 Congress MPs (₹44.13 crore to ₹65.64 crore).

For re-contesting 10 MPs of the DMK it was 19.96 percent (₹30.93 crore to ₹37.10 crore), 48.13 percent for eight Shiv Sena MPs (₹19.77 crore to ₹29.28 crore), 20.53 percent for five Samajwadi Party MPs (₹20.56 crore to ₹24.78 crore) and 84.13 percent for eight YSRCP MPs (₹28.66 crore to ₹52.78 crore).

The report said the average increase in assets of 16 re-contesting MPs of the Trinamool Congress was 53.84 percent (₹15.69 crore to ₹24.15 crore), 35.54 percent for 11 Janata Dal (United) MPs (₹4.55 crore to ₹6.17 crore), 14.34 percent for one Nationalist Congress Party MP (₹12 crore to ₹14 crore), 52.94 percent for three BRS MPs (₹38 crore to ₹59 crore), 21.05 percent for three NCP (Sharad Chandra Pawar) MPs (₹48 cr to ₹58 crore), and 317 percent for one JD(S) MP (₹9 crore to ₹40 crore).

The increase for recontesting MPs of the Bahujan Samaj Party was 25.37 percent (₹8.46 crore to ₹10.61 crore), 68.4 percent for the Shiv Sena (Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray) (₹7.01 crore to ₹11.80 crore), 184.02 percent for the Biju Janata Dal (₹2.41 crore to ₹6.85 crore), 143.2 percent for the TDP (₹18.90 crore to ₹45.97 crore), 104.9 percent for the Indian Union Muslim League (₹13.07 crore to ₹26.78 crore) and 3000.51 percent for the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (₹. 4,78 lakh to ₹1.48 crore), the report said.

It said the increase was 35.12 percent for recontesting MPs of the AIMIM (₹10.43 crore to ₹14.09 crore), 97.61 percent for the CPI(M) (₹. 85.40 lakh to ₹1.68 crore).

It was 117.36 percent for the Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi, the report said and added that the Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar) saw a slight decrease of three percent in assets of recontesting MPs.

(Disclaimer: The headline, subheads, and intro of this report along with the photos may have been reworked by South First. The rest of the content is from a syndicated feed, and has been edited for style.)