Fact finding team to review Congress’ performance in Lok Sabha polls, says Karnataka Dy CM

DK Shivakumar said he and Chief Minister Siddaramaiah will hold four meetings to review party’s performance.


Published Jul 02, 2024 | 11:23 AM Updated Jul 02, 2024 | 11:23 AM

DK Shivakumar on Congress Lok Sabha performance in Karnataka

Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister DK Shivakumar on Monday, 1 July, said a fact-finding committee would be formed to analyse the party’s performance in the recently concluded Parliamentary elections.

The ruling Congress won nine seats while the BJP and its ally JD(S) got 19 seats in the Lok Sabha elections in Karnataka.

Though the Congress succeeded in increasing its tally from just one in the 2019 LS election to nine this time, it was behind its target of winning 15.

Also Read: Karnataka government rolls out insurance scheme for gig workers

Performance in Kalyana Karnataka region

Speaking to reporters after a meeting with party office bearers in KPCC office, Shivakumar said, “Our performance in the Parliamentary elections has not been up to our expectations except in the Kalyana Karnataka region. We expected more than 15 seats, but it hasn’t happened.”

The committee will ascertain what went wrong, analyse the party’s performance in each assembly constituency and submit a report, Shivakumar, who is also the Congress state president, said.

The Deputy CM pointed out that the party won nine seats against the media prediction of two.

“But we are not satisfied with the result. We could have won four to five more seats.”

Shivakumar said he and Chief Minister Siddaramaiah will hold four meetings to review party’s performance.

The report will be submitted to a team of the All India Congress Committee (AICC) when it visits Karnataka to review the election results.

Also Read: Karnataka government to amend certain sections in new criminal laws

Assembly by-polls

On the assembly by-polls following the resignation of three MLAs after they won the Lok Sabha elections, Shivakumar said three teams have been formed to oversee preparations for the by-elections.

“One of the teams has already submitted a report on Shiggaon constituency. The Sandur constituency report will be submitted by 3 July. Minister Chaluvarayaswamy will submit a report on the Channapatna constituency,” he said.

Former Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai was Shiggaon MLA in Haveri district, JDS leader HD Kumaraswamy was Channapatna MLA in Ramanagara district and Congress leader E Tukaram represented the Sandur assembly seat in Ballari.

Their resignations after their victory in the Lok Sabha election have necessitated the assembly by-polls.

(Disclaimer: The headline, subheads, and intro of this report along with the photos may have been reworked by South First. The rest of the content is from a syndicated feed, and has been edited for style.)

(South First is now on WhatsApp and Telegram)