As Narendra Modi and Amit Shah lead, Smriti Irani and Rajeev Chandrashekhar trail behind opponents

Shah and Pradhan are among the ministers leading in their respective constituencies and Irani is among the trailing.

BySouth First Desk

Published Jun 04, 2024 | 3:21 PMUpdatedJun 04, 2024 | 3:21 PM

New parliament building inauguration YSRCP

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Women and Child Minister Smriti Irani, and Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan are among the incumbent ministers seeking re-election to the Lok Sabha.

While the votes are being counted on Tuesday, 4 June, Modi and Defence Minister Rajnath Singh are leading from their Varanasi and Lucknow Lok Sabha seats, respectively.

Shah and Pradhan are among the ministers leading in their respective constituencies and Irani is among the trailing.

However, Union Women and Child Development Minister Smriti Irani and Union Heavy Industries Minister Mahendra Nath Pandey are trailing from Amethi and Chandauli, respectively.

Apart from Prime Minister Narendra Modi, there are 11 Union ministers in the fray from the politically crucial state of Uttar Pradesh which sends 80 MPs to the Lok Sabha.

Lok Sabha polls 2024 results: Celebrations at BJP office as saffron party leads in early trends

Prominent ministers in the fray

Information and Broadcasting Minister Anurag Thakur is leading from Hamirpur.

Irani, Minister of Women and Child Development since 2019 and Minister of Minority Affairs, is trailing from Amethi behind Kishori Lal.

In Chandrauli, Mahendra Nath Pandey is trailing behind Birendra Singh of the Samajwadi Party.

In Dharwad, Union Minister for Parliamentary Affairs Pralhad Joshin is leading against Congress candidate Vinod Asooti. Union Minister of State Shobha Karandlaje is leading in Bangalore North against Congress’ MV Rajeev Gowda.

In Nilgiris, Union MoS L Murugan is trailing DMK’s A Raja. Meanwhile, Union Minister Piyush Goyal is leading in Mumbai North.

Rajeev Chandrasekhar, Minister of State for the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology and Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, is trailing in Thiruvananthapuram behind Congress’ Shashi Tharoor.

Union MoS V Muraleedharan is in a distant third in Attingal where CPI(M)’s V Joy is headed towards a victory.

Arjun Munda, the Minister of Tribal Affairs and Minister of Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare in the second Modi government, is now trailing from Khunti in Jharkhand behind Kali Charan Munda of the Congress.

Bhupender Yadav, Union Cabinet Minister of Labour and Employment, Environment, Forest and Climate Change, is leading from Alwar in Rajasthan.

Other ministers who are leading are Dharmendra Pradhan in Sambalpur, G Kishan Reddy in Secunderabad, Gajendra Shekhawat in Jodhpur and Nitin Gadkari in Nagpur.

BJP’s minister, Jyotiraditya Scindia, is also leading from Guna. Om Birla, the 17th and current Speaker of the Lok Sabha, is leading from Kota.

BJP candidate Subhas Sarkar, Union Minister of State for Education, was trailing in the Bankura constituency to his nearest rival Arup Chakraborty of Trinamool Congress by 14,932 votes.

The saffron party’s Nisith Pramanik, the Union Minister of State for Home, was trailing by 7,339 votes to his nearest rival Jagadish Chandra Barma Basunia of the TMC in the Cooch Behar seat.

Union Minister of State Shantanu Thakur, BJP’s candidate from Bangaon, was leading by 34,464 votes over TMC’s Biswajit Das in the constituency.