Bifurcation blues? 10 years later, several issues remain unresolved between Andhra Pradesh, Telangana

Hyderabad will cease to exist as the joint capital from 2 June, 2024 according to the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act 2014.


Published May 19, 2024 | 4:56 PM Updated May 19, 2024 | 6:09 PM

Bifurcation issues of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh

It has been ten long years since the bifurcation, but several issues such as the division of assets, and power bill dues, are still unresolved between Andhra Pradesh and Telangana even as Hyderabad would cease to be the common capital of the two states from 2 June.

Hyderabad would belong solely to Telangana, according to the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act 2014.

According to official sources, the division of various institutions and corporations between the two states, listed in Schedule 9 and Schedule 10 of the Act, has not been completed as there was no consensus over several issues.

Also Read: KTR warns of agitation if Revanth Reddy government fails to address farmer woes

Awaiting final resolution

According to the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, as many as 89 government companies and corporations are listed in the Ninth Schedule.

They include state-run companies and corporations like Andhra Pradesh State Seeds Development Corporation, Andhra Pradesh State Agro Industrial Development Corporation and Andhra Pradesh State Warehousing Corporation.

The 10th Schedule of the Act includes 107 training institutions/centres like the Andhra Pradesh State Co-operative Union, Environment Protection Training and Research Institute, Forest Academy, Centre for Good Governance and Andhra Pradesh Police Academy.

Though an expert committee headed by retired bureaucrat Sheela Bhide provided recommendations on the bifurcation of Schedule IX and X institutions, the matter remains unresolved. The two states have also been caught in a row over payment of dues for the supply of power post bifurcation.

The transfer of employees is one of the issues that is waiting for final resolution.

The Telangana Non-Gazetted Officers’ Union Central – Hyderabad president M Jagadeeshwar told PTI on Sunday, 19 May that they submitted a memorandum to Deputy Chief Minister Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka on 18 May urging the government to bring back the leftover (144) Telangana employees allotted to Andhra Pradesh during state bifurcation.

These employees have been working in the state since 2014.

Also Read: Andhra post-poll violence: CM Jagan and TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu’s silence is loud

Disagreement over TSRTC

Another example is the disagreement between the two states over assets of the state-run Road Transport Corporation.

A senior official from the Telangana State Road Transport Corporation (TSRTC) told PTI that Andhra Pradesh sought a share in assets of the corporation located in Hyderabad and that the TSRTC has denied and disagreed with it.

The TSRTC feels that the said assets belong to it as per the definition of ‘headquarters’ given by the Sheela Bhide panel.

Chief Minister Revanth Reddy had instructed the officials to settle amicably the pending transfer and repatriation of employees to Andhra Pradesh.

He had told the officials to resolve the issues where there is reconciliation between the two states and to act in such a way as to protect the interests of Telangana over other pending matters.

Also Read:  L&T and Telangana government at odds

The Cabinet meeting that did not happen

The Telangana government had proposed to conduct a meeting of the state Cabinet on 18 May to discuss, among others, the pending issues between Telangana and Andhra Pradesh and other related matters.

However, the cabinet meeting could not be held as the requisite nod from the Election Commission of India (ECI), given the Model Code of Conduct(MCC) for Lok Sabha elections, was not received till 18 May night.

Revanth Reddy has decided to hold the Cabinet meeting after obtaining the ECI’s approval.

Decades-long demand was fulfilled when Telangana came into existence on 2 June, 2014 following the passage of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation bill in Parliament in February 2014, during the previous UPA regime.

Hyderabad has been made the common capital of the two states for 10 years beginning on 2, June 2014. As per the Act, the bustling metropolis of Hyderabad will be the capital of only Telangana from 2, June 2024.

Related: Telangana Cabinet to discuss bifurcation issues on 18 May 

To take over government buildings

Though Hyderabad has been the common capital for the two states till then, the Andhra Pradesh Secretariat and almost the entire state administration shifted to Amaravati in Andhra Pradesh in 2016 when TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu was the Chief Minister.

Naidu had planned to develop a greenfield world-class capital in Amaravati.

At a review meeting held on 15 May on state bifurcation issues, Revanth Reddy told officials to take over, after 2 June, buildings like the Lake View government guest house in Hyderabad which were given to Andhra Pradesh for 10 years.

The row over Andhra Pradesh Bhavan in Delhi was resolved in March this year with the Centre providing land allocation to the two states. The Centre had held a meeting with senior officials from both states in Delhi in March on bifurcation issues.

(Disclaimer: The headline, subheads, and intro of this report along with the photos may have been reworked by South First. The rest of the content is from a syndicated feed, and has been edited for style.)