Malayalam actor Siddique elected as AMMA general secretary

Jagadish and Jayan Cherthala elected as vice-presidents. The new office-bearers will have a tenure of three years from 2024 to 2027.

BySouth First Desk

Published Jul 01, 2024 | 1:08 PM Updated Jul 01, 2024 | 2:43 PM

Siddique elected as AMMA general secretary

Malayalam actor Siddique was elected as the new general secretary of AMMA (Association of Malayalam Movie Artists) during the annual general body meeting held in Kochi on Sunday, June 30.

An election to the post of general secretary was held as Edavela Babu announced his decision to step down from the post.

Actors Kukku Parameswaran and Unni Shivapal also were in the fray along with Siddique for the post of AMMA general secretary.

Meanwhile, Jagadish and Jayan Cherthala were chosen as the vice-presidents of AMMA. The office-bearers will have a tenure of three years from 2024 to 2027.

Last week, Mohanlal was elected unopposed as the AMMA president for the third consecutive term. Unni Mukundan and Baburaj were elected as the treasurer and joint secretary respectively.

Kalabhavan Shajon, Suraj Venjaramoodu, Joy Mathew, Suresh Krishna, Tiny Tom, Ananya, Vinu Mohan, Tovino Thomas, Ansiba Hassan, and Sarayu are the new members.

High drama at AMMA election

Meanwhile, high drama prevailed during the AMMA election held to select the new board.

The executive committee must have 11 members of which four should be women. However, the election committee decided to replace two women—Ansiba Hassan and Sarayu—since they received the lowest number of votes.

Baburaj, Jayan Cherthala, and PP Kunjikrishnan opposed this move by the election committee and demanded that the two women be considered for the post. However, the committee declared the names of 10 executive committee members, including three women, at the meeting.

The name of the 11th member will be decided at the next executive committee meeting to be held soon.

Meanwhile, it is learnt that Manju Pillai and Kukku Parameshwaram, who lost the AMMA election, will also be considered for the 11th executive committee member. Further, Kukku proposed the name of Sheelu Abraham for the same post.

The election saw active participation from 337 artistes. Mammootty, who is presently in the UK for a vacation, could not attend the meeting. Union Minister-actor Suresh Gopi was felicitated by AMMA members for his recent electoral win.

(Edited by Y Krishna Jyothi)

(South First is now on WhatsApp and Telegram)

Malayalam watchlist: Small films to regale audiences this July