Mohanlal elected as AMMA president for third time

The term will span three years, from 2024 to 2027, with elections for other positions scheduled to take place in Kochi on 30 June.

BySouth First Desk

Published Jun 19, 2024 | 6:24 PM Updated Jun 20, 2024 | 1:20 PM

Mohanlal was the sole candidate nominated for the presidency of AMMA when the list of candidates for other positions such as vice-president and general secretary was announced. (X)

Veteran Malayalam actor Mohanlal has been unanimously elected as the president of the Association of Malayalam Movie Artists (AMMA) for the third consecutive term.

A meeting of AMMA members took place in Kochi on Wednesday, 19 June. While Mohanlal will remain as the president, there will be changes in the key positions within the actors’ association.

Reportedly, Anoop Chandran, Kuku Parameswaran, and Jayan Cherthala expressed their interest in contesting for the president’s post. However, during the meeting, the majority of members favoured not having a contested election for the position of president.

A new general secretary needs to be elected because Idavela Babu, who has served as AMMA’s general secretary for almost ten years, will step down.

Election on 30 June

Previously, Idavela Babu informed the media about his resignation, affirming Mohanlal’s continuation as AMMA president.

Having held the position of general secretary for an extended period, Idavela Babu expressed contentment in relinquishing his role.

The annual general body meeting of AMMA and the election for the 2024-27 executive committee will take place on 30 June. Siddique, Kukku Parameshwaram, and Unni Sivapal will vie for the position of general secretary.

Meanwhile, Jagadish, Jayan Cherthala, and Manju Pillai will compete for the role of AMMA vice-president, currently held by Shwetha Menon and Maniyanpilla Raju.

Anoop Chandran and Baburaj Jacob are in the running for the joint secretary position.

Actor Unni Mukundan has been elected as the new treasurer of AMMA, as no other candidates have submitted nominations for the position.

Several actors including Ananya, Ansiba Hassan, Joy Mathew, Kalabhavan Shajon, Ramesh Pisharody, Rony David, Sarayu Mohan, Suraj Venjaramood, Suresh Krishna, Tiny Tom, Tovino Thomas, Vinu Mohan are running for seats on the new executive committee of AMMA.

Notably, current executive members Shwetha Menon, Maniyanpilla Raju, Lena, Lal, Vijay Babu, Sudheer, and Jayasurya have opted not to contest this time.

According to a press release, AMMA’s bylaws stipulate that the governing body should include four women representatives among its 17 members.

Since two women candidates are running for office bearer positions, the exact number of women to be elected as executive committee members will be determined after the vote count for the office bearer positions, the release stated.

Women characters matter: A new hope for female representation in Malayalam cinema

(Edited by S Subhakeerthana)

(South First is now on WhatsApp  and Telegram)