TDP-Jana Sena jointly announce first list of candidates for Andhra Pradesh elections

Referring to alliance with BJP, Naidu and Kalyan said that if and when an alliance is confirmed, a decision will be taken after discussions.

BySouth First Desk

Published Feb 24, 2024 | 1:34 PMUpdatedFeb 24, 2024 | 1:34 PM

Chandrababu Naidu and Pawan Kalyan announce the first list of candidates for the Assembly polls

TDP supremo Nara Chandrababu Naidu and Jana Sena chief Pawan Kalyan on Saturday, 24 February, announced the first list of candidates for the upcoming 2024 Andhra Pradesh Assembly elections. In a joint press meet at Naidu’s residence in Undavalli, the two parties put up a show of unity and strength.

Of the total of 175 seats in the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly, TDP-JSP combine announced seat-sharing for 118 constituencies in its first official list. This has allowed the partners to make space for BJP if it decides to officially join forces.  As per the first list comprising 118 seats, TDP will contest from 94 seats and Jana Sena from 24 seats.

Out of 25 Parliamentary seats in Andhra Pradesh, the JSP is set to contest in three, and the rest will be held by TDP while keeping one option open for BJP.

Referring to the alliance with BJP, both the party chiefs’ said that if and when the alliance moves forward, the decision will be taken after discussions, keeping in mind people’s welfare.

Jana Sena chief Pawan Kalyan further said, “Keeping in view the possible alliance with BJP, Jana Sena chose to contest from 24 assembly constituencies.”

Jana Sena has announced five candidates from their share of 24 seats:

  • Nellimarra: Lokam Madhavi
  • Anakapalli: Konathaala Ramakrishna
  • Rajanagaram: Bathula Balaramakrishna
  • Kakinada Rural: Pantham Nananji
  • Tenali: Nadendla Manohar

Jana Sena chief Pawan Kalyan has not yet announced from which constituency he could contest.

Candidates for the rest of the 18 seats are expected to be announced in two days

Pawan Kalyan further said, “Instead of being greedy for the seats, we are aiming for 98 percent strike rate, that is why we have chosen to go for only 24 seats.”

He added: “We have been suffering since 2014, and the atrocities increased manifold by 2019, which is why today our main objective is the welfare of the people and state, we have come together keeping aside our personal and party benefits.”

The Jana Sena chief further added: “A lot of seniors suggested, we should take 40 or 50 seats, but keeping in view previous performances, we have chosen to go for less number of seats with maximum strike rate.”

Speaking on vote transfer, he said, “Keeping aside our personal differences, votes of TDP should be transferred to Jana Sena and Jana Sena’s to TDP.”

Also Read: TDP-JSP to announce first list of Assembly poll candidates on 24 February

Betterment of state: Main motto

TDP chief Naidu further added,  “This alliance being announced on the auspicious day of Pournami is for the betterment of the state and people”

Reaffirming Pawan Kalyan’s words, Naidu said, “This alliance’s main motto is betterment of people and state.”

He further added: “TDP-JSP is ready for election war.”

The TDP has announced all the 94 names for their share of seats. Among them, the prominent ones have been, the former chief minister himself contesting from Kuppam, Nara Lokesh from Managalagiri, Bhuma Akhila Priya Reddy from Allagadda, Paritala Sunitha from Raptadu, and Nandamuri Balakrishna from Hindupur.

The former chief minister said that the combined list has an infusion of fresh faces with 23 newcomers, youth candidates, representation from the BC community, and women candidates.

Taking a dig at the incumbent YSRCP, Naidu said that while the TDP- Jana Sena alliance has 28 candidates with post-graduate degrees, 50 candidates with graduate degrees, three doctors, two PhD holders, and one IAS Officer, the ruling party’s contestants have people with criminal history.

Also Read: Miffed over TDP alliance move, AP BJP district chiefs chalk up their own plans