Chandrababu Naidu keeps his vow, returns to Andhra Pradesh Assembly as chief minister

On 19 November 2021, Naidu vowed that he would return to the Assembly only as the leader of the House. He had then left the Assembly after YSRCP MLAs targeted him and his family.

ByRaj Rayasam

Published Jun 21, 2024 | 12:52 PM Updated Jun 21, 2024 | 3:57 PM

N Chanadrababu Naidu taking oath as an MLA in the Andhra Pradesh Assembly on Friday, 21 June. (Screengrab)

TDP national leader returned to the Andhra Pradesh Assembly on Friday, 21 June, 31 months after he had left the House, angry and disgusted.

While leaving the Assembly on 19 November 2021, Naidu had vowed that he would return only as the leader of the House. On Friday, a jubilant Naidu — now the chief minister — went back to the House and took the oath as an MLA.

On 12 June, he was sworn in as the chief minister.

Earlier, Naidu took the vow in the House after the then ruling YSRCP members abused him and passed unsavory comments against his wife. As the YSRCP members went on humiliating him, an emotional Naidu rode from his chair, and stormed out saying he would return only as the chief minister or he would quit politics.

Also Read: Naidu sworn in as Andhra Pradesh CM; Pawan, Lokesh also take oath

Gaurava Sabha

He had then called the House Kaurava Sabha (the court of Kauravas, where Draupadi was pawned and disrobed) and not Guarava Sabha (house of dignity).

Keeping his word, he did not enter the Assembly ever since but took on Jagan Mohan Reddy on the electoral battlefield and pulled off a sensational victory. Jagan’s YSRCP was restricted to just 11 constituencies in the recent Assembly elections.

Before entering the Assembly on Friday, Naidu kneeled at the steps and later entered the office of the leader of the House amidst priests’ chanting Vedic hymns.

For Naidu, the day began with paying tributes to the late NT Rama Rao at his statue at Venkatayapalem in Amaravati. He drove straight to the Assembly from Amaravati.

Later, Naidu was sworn in as an MLA by Pro-tem Speaker Gorantla Butchaiah Chowdary. Deputy Chief Minister Pawan Kalyan, and ministers N Lokesh, K Atchannaidu, and P Narayana took the oath after Naidu.

According to an official source of PTI, 172 MLAs were administered oath by Pro-tem Speaker.

YSRCP supremo YS Jagan Mohan Reddy also attended the session and took oath as an MLA.

Following the swearing-in ceremony, the Pro-tem Speaker adjourned the House to 10:30 am on Saturday, 22 June.

The session did not witness the election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker, the source said.

However, Nara Lokesh, Pawan Kalyan and others filed nominations for the Speaker’s post on behalf of TDP’s Narsipatnam MLA C Ayyannapatrudu.

(With PTI inputs)

(Edited by Majnu Babu).

(South First is now on WhatsApp and Telegram)