As TDP marks a stunning comeback in Andhra, CM Jagan set to resign, Naidu is sought after

As counting of votes for Andhra Pradesh Assembly polls was underway, TDP has crossed the halfway mark leaving YSRCP with barely 12 seats.

BySouth First Desk

Published Jun 04, 2024 | 4:27 PMUpdatedJun 04, 2024 | 9:34 PM

Post poll violence in Andhra Pradesh

In a dramatic turn of events, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), led by N Chandrababu Naidu, is registering a landslide victory in Andhra Pradesh.

As the votes are counted for the state Assembly polls, trends till 3.30 pm on Tuesday, 4 June,  the Opposition TDP in Andhra Pradesh has crossed the halfway mark by winning 10 seats and leading in 123 seats out of the total 175 seats.

TDP contested in alliance with BJP and Pawan Kalyan’s JanaSena Party as part of NDA.

The coalition also performed well in the Lok Sabha polls, leading in 21 out of 25 constituencies. According to the Election Commission data, the ruling YSRCP is facing a rout in the state, currently leading in only 14 seats.

The Pawan Kalyan-led Jana Sena is declared elected in 2 seats and leading in 19 seats. The BJP has won one seat and leading in seven seats.

The BJP-led NDA is ahead in 293 parliamentary seats, while the Congress -led INDIA alliance leads with 233 seats.

This leaves the BJP short of the simple majority of 272 seats for the first time under incumbent Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who is currently leading in 240 seats as of 3:00 pm.

This development brings the INDIA alliance closer to the magic figure of 272 parliamentary seats, if they include the NDA allies TDP from Andhra Pradesh (leading in 16 seats) and JDU led by Nitish Kumar (also leading with 16 seats from Bihar).

The Congress is making efforts to reach out to their former friends.

Also Read: AP Assembly election results: TDP wins 10 seats, leads in 123; YSRCP faces rout

Prominent contests

YS Jagan is leading in the Pulivendula Assembly constituency with 54,797 votes over his TDP rival Ravi. Naidu is leading in the Kuppam Assembly segment with 36,268 votes, over his YSRCP rival KRJ Bharat.

In Mangalagiri, TDP general secretary Nara Lokesh is leading with 17,227 votes over his YSRCP rival M Lavanya after two rounds of counting.

In Pithapuram, Jana Sena supremo Pawan Kalyan is leading by 67,843 votes against his YSRCP rival Geetha Viswanath.

Meanwhile, Irrigation Minister and senior YSRCP leader A Rambabu is trailing his TDP rival K Lakshminarayana in Sattenapalle, who is leading by 25,950 votes.

Mines Minister and senior YSRCP leader P Ramachandra Reddy is leading with 6,623 votes in Punganuru over his TDP opponent C Ramachandra Reddy.

YSRCP leader and Animal Husbandry Minister S Appala Raju is trailing his TDP rival G Sireesha in Palasa. Sireesha is leading with 33,561 votes.

Education Minister and YSRCP senior leader B Satyanarayana is trailing his TDP rival K Kala Venkata Rao by 7,347 votes in Cheepurupalle.

Jagan is currently leading from the Pulivendla Assembly seat, while Janasena chief Pawan Kalyan maintains an edge over his rival in the Pithapuram Assembly seat.

Also Read: SC bars YSRCP MLA Pinnelli Ramakrishna Reddy from entering counting station

Speculations of TDP backing INDIA bloc

Amid rumours that the TDP may support the INDIA alliance, Naidu on Tuesday called Prime Minister Modi and Union Minister Amit Shah. He congratulated both leaders on the NDA’s impressive performance and assured continued support.

PM Modi and Amit Shah in return congratulated Chandrababu Naidu on the grand victory of the NDA alliance in Andhra Pradesh, TDP sources said.

This victory comes five years after the TDP suffered a humiliating defeat at the hands of a much younger Jagan Mohan Reddy. Naidu’s electoral triumph follows his recent arrest in an alleged corruption case.

In Andhra Pradesh, Assembly Elections were held on 13 May, along with the Lok Sabha polls.

Seeking another term, the YSRCP contested on all 174 seats alone, while the TDP fielded candidates on 144 seats. Pawan Kalyan-led Jana Sena Party (JSP) contested on 21 seats and the BJP on 10 seats.

Jagan Mohan Reddy is likely to resign as the chief minister at 4 pm and is reportedly set to meet Governor Justice Nazir to submit his resignation. Naidu will take oath as Chief Minister for the fourth time.

(Edited by Shauqueen Mizaj)