Andhra Pradesh Assembly election results: TDP wins 112 seats, leads in 22; YSRCP faces rout

According to the Election Commission data, the YSRCP is facing an imminent rout in the state, currently leading in only 18 seats.

BySouth First Desk

Published Jun 04, 2024 | 12:34 PM Updated Jun 04, 2024 | 8:52 PM

Andhra welfare schemes

According to the trends till 8.30 pm on Tuesday, 4 June, the Opposition TDP in Andhra Pradesh has won 112 seats and is leading in 22 of the total 175 seats.

According to the Election Commission data, the YSRCP is facing a rout in the state, currently leading in only 12 seats.

The Pawan Kalyan-led Jana Sena — contesting the elections in the NDA alliance with the BJP and the TDP — is declared elected in 19 seats and leading in 2 seats.

The BJP has won five seats and leading in three seats.

TDP supremo N Chandrababu Naidu on Tuesday is on course to lead his party towards a landslide victory, five years after suffering a humiliating defeat at the hands of a much younger Jagan Mohan Reddy.

Naidu’s latest electoral triumph comes months after his arrest in an alleged corruption case. In the outgoing House, TDP has 23 members.

Meanwhile, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister MK Stalin congratulated Naidu for his victory

Lok Sabha polls 2024: YSRCP stunned as TDP juggernaut thunders through Andhra

Prominent contests

YS Jagan Mohan Reddy is leading in the Pulivendula Assembly constituency with 54,797 votes over his TDP rival Ravi.

N Chandrababu Naidu is leading in the Kuppam Assembly segment with 36,268 votes, over his YSRCP rival KRJ Bharat.

In Mangalagiri, TDP general secretary Nara Lokesh is leading with 17,227 votes over his YSRCP rival M Lavanya after two rounds of counting.

In Pithapuram, Jana Sena supremo Pawan Kalyan is leading by 67,843 votes against his YSRCP rival Geetha Viswanath.

Meanwhile, Irrigation Minister and senior YSRCP leader A Rambabu is trailing his TDP rival K Lakshminarayana in Sattenapalle, who is leading by 25,950 votes.

Mines Minister and senior YSRCP leader P Ramachandra Reddy is leading with 6,623 votes in Punganuru over his TDP opponent C Ramachandra Reddy.

YSRCP leader and Animal Husbandry Minister S Appala Raju is trailing his TDP rival G Sireesha in Palasa. Sireesha is leading with 33,561 votes.

Education Minister and YSRCP senior leader B Satyanarayana is trailing his TDP rival K Kala Venkata Rao by 7,347 votes in Cheepurupalle.

Four-decade-long political career

Born on 20 April, 1950 at Naravaripalli in the undivided Chittoor district of Andhra Pradesh, Nara Chandrababu Naidu started his more than four-decade-long political career on the student politics platform at Sri Venkateswara University in Tirupati.

Following that solid foundation, Naidu (74) joined the Congress party and went on to become a cabinet minister.

However, he later jumped ship to the TDP founded by his late father-in-law and legendary actor NT Rama Rao.

Naidu first ascended the chief minister’s chair in 1995 and went on to become a three-time chief minister.

His first two terms as chief minister came during the era of united Andhra Pradesh, beginning in 1995 and ending in 2004, nine years at a stretch while the third term came post-bifurcation of the united state. Telangana was carved out of Andhra Pradesh 10 years ago.

As the CM of the erstwhile undivided state, he emerged as the chief architect of modern Hyderabad, playing a key role in developing the hi-tech city and turning it into a major hub.

During the late 90s, Naidu played a key role in forming the Central Government of that time and the first NDA government formed by Atal Bihari Vajpayee was supported from outside by the TDP.

In 2014, Naidu emerged as the first chief minister of the residuary state of Andhra Pradesh and served it until 2019.

In his third term as CM, he championed Amaravati to be the capital city of the southern state but losing power left his brainchild as an unfulfilled promise, especially after his successor and YSRCP supremo Jagan Mohan Reddy dealt a debilitating blow to Amaravati.

Moreover, Naidu’s arrest in 2023 under the Skill Development Corporation Scam case by the YSRCP government was the lowest point in his career.

After a pre-dawn arrest on 9 September, Naidu spent nearly two months in the Rajamahendravaram central jail.

However, an interim bail on October 31, which was made absolute on 20 November set Naidu free to prepare for the 2024 polls, enabling him to join the NDA alliance of TDP, BJP and Jana Sena.