Lok Sabha polls results for South: Who won with highest and lowest victory margins

BJP opened an account in Kerala with actor-politician Suresh Gopi winning winning the Thrissur Lok Sabha constituency.

BySouth First Desk

Published Jun 04, 2024 | 9:12 PMUpdatedJun 04, 2024 | 9:43 PM

Lok Sabha polls 2024 results

As the counting of votes for Lok Sabha elections nears its end on 4 June, the BJP is poised to be the single largest party but could be well short of an absolute majority, leaving it dependent on its NDA partners to form a government. On the other hand, the opposition INDIA bloc appeared to be a formidable force.

With plenty of greys in a scenario that was expected to be black and white, South First takes a look at candidates in South India to trace who is winning with the highest and lowest margins. The vote margin mentioned here is as of 6 pm from the ECI.

Kerala – Rahul Gandhi

The Congress-led UDF continued to maintain its lead in the majority of seats in Kerala as the counting of EVM ballots entered into the final phase, with its candidates marching ahead with comfortable margins in its strongholds against their nearest rivals from the CPI(M)-led LDF and the BJP-led NDA.

Rahul Gandhi bagged the Wayanad constituency with a huge margin of 3,64,422 votes, where he was contesting against Annie Raja of CPI(M).

In Malappuram, IUML’s ET Mohammed Basheer is leading with a vote margin of 3,00,118 against CPI(M)’s V Vaseef.

Dr MP Abdussamad Samadani of IUML is leading with a margin of 2,35,090 votes in Ponnani where he is contesting against CPI(M)’s KS Hamza.

In Alathur, Pathanamthitta and Idukki constituencies it is a closely fought battle.

In Pathanamthitta, Congress’s Anto Antony is leading with a margin of 21,087 against his closest rival, Dr. JTA Thomas Issac of CPI(M).

In Idukki, Advocate Dean Kuriakose from Congress is leading with a margin of 13,327 against fellow advocate Joice George from CPI(M).

In Alathur, CPI(M)’s K Radhakrishnan is leading with 2,081 against his closest rival Ramya Haridas of Congress.

Related: Live Lok Sabha polls 2024 results: Congress becomes party with highest number of seats in the South

Telangana: Owaisi and Raghuveer in limelight 

In Nalgonda, Congress’s Kunduru Raghuveer is leading with a margin of 5,59,905 against his nearest rival, BJP’s Saidi Reddy Shanampudi.

In Hyderabad, AIMIM  chief Asauddin Owaisi is leading with 3,38,335 votes against BJP’s Madhavi Latha Kompella.

In Malkajgiri, BJP’s Eatala Rajender is leading with 3,87,375 votes against his nearest rival Patnam Suneetha Mahender Reddy of Congress.

In Khammam, Congress’s Ramasahayam Raghuram Reddy is leading with a vote margin of 4,67,847 against Nama Nageswara Rao of BRS.

The constituencies of Mahbubnagar, Medak and Zahirabad are facing a close-call battle.

In Mahbubnagar BJP’s DK Aruna is leading against her closest rival Challa Vamshi Chand Reddy of Congress with a margin of 4,500 votes.

In Medak,  BJP’s Madhavaneni Raghunandan Rao is leading with 39,139 votes against Congress’s Neelam Madhu.

In Zahirabad, Congress’s Suresh Kumar Shetkar is leading with a margin of 47, 896 votes against BJP’s BB Patil.

Also Read: Priyanka Gandhi: Congress’ talisman who countered PM Modi in Lok Sabha polls

Tamil Nadu: Massive win for DMK and its allies

Out of the 39 Lok Sabha constituencies in Tamil Nadu, the DMK and its allies appear all set to achieve a clean sweep in 39 segments. In a first, BJP crossed the 10 percent vote share mark in the state, though it could not emerge in lead positions anywhere.

DMK’s TR Baalu is leading in Sriperumbudur with 4,34,371 votes against his closest rival G Premkumar of AIADMK. The six-time DMK MP is all set to become the oldest member of the Lok Sabha.

In Perambalur, DMK’s Arun Nehru is leading with 3,85,508 votes against AIADMK’s ND Chandramohan.

In Thoothukkudi, Kanimozhi Karunanidhi is leading with 3,79,693 votes against AIADMK’s R Sivasamy Velumani.

Meanwhile, in Dharmapuri, DMK’s Mani won with a margin of 21,300 against PMK’s Sowmiya Anbumani.

In Virudhunagar, Congress candidate Manickam Tagore is leading with 4,794 votes against DMDK’s V Vijayaprabhakaran.

In Namakkal, VS Matheswaran of DMK is leading with 27,608 votes against AIADMK’s S Tamilmani.

Andhra Pradesh

Chandrababu Naidu’s TDP is set to form the government in Andhra Pradesh, where elections to Lok Sabha and the state Assembly were conducted simultaneously.

In Srikakulam, Visakhapatnam and Amalapuram, TDP candidates are set to win with a huge margin.

In Srikakulam, TDP’s Kinjarapu Rammohan Naidu is leading with a margin of 3,06,193 votes against his closest rival, YSRCP’s Tilak Perada.

In Visakhapatnam, the party’s Sribharat Mathukumili is leading with a margin of 3,95,166 against YSRCP’s Jhansi Lakshmi Botcha.

In Amalapura, a constituency reserved for Scheduled Caste, GM Harish is leading with 3,02,856 votes against YSRCP’s Rapaka Varaprasada Rao.

When it comes to candidates leading with close margins, in Thirupathi (SC), YSRCP’s Gurumoorthy Maddila is leading with 14,569 votes against BJP’s Varaprasad Rao Velagapalli.

In Araku, a constituency reserved for Scheduled Tribe (ST), YSRCP’s Gumma Thanuja Rani is leading with 50,580 votes against BJP’s Kothapalli Geetha.

In Ongole, TDP’s Magunta Sreenivasulu Reddy is leading with 50,437 votes against YSRCP’s Dr Chevireddyy Bhaskar Reddy.

Also Read: In a chart: Results of Andhra Pradesh assembly elections 2024

In Karnataka, BJP yields ground to Congress

The BJP yielded ground to the Congress, as the ruling party in Karnataka is on course to boost its Lok Sabha seats tally to 10, as per the latest counting trends. The BJP was ahead in 16 seats – down from 25 in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections – while its NDA partner JD(S) is projected to win in two constituencies.

In Uttara Kannada, BJP’s Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri won with a margin of 3,37,428 against his Congress rival, Dr Anjali Nimbalkar.

In Mandya, former CM and JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy won with 2,84,620 votes more than his Congress rival, Venkataramane Gowda.

In Bangalore South, Tejasvi Surya of BJP won with a margin of 2,77,083 votes against Congress’s Sowmya Reddy.

In Davangere, Congress leader Dr Prabha Mallikarjun is leading with 25,443 votes against BJP’s Gayithri Siddeshwara while the party’s Gulbarga Radhakrishna is leading against saffron party candidate Dr Umesh G Jadhavwith 27,205 votes.

In Kolar, JD(S) candidate M Mallesh Babu is leading with 7,138 votes against his nearest rival, KV Gowtham of Congress.

(Edited by Neena with PTI inputs)