Telangana: 4 BRS leaders, including 2 former MPs and 1 Congress leader join BJP

BRS leaders Godam Nagesh and Sitaram Nayak, Saidy Reddy and Jalagam Venkat Rao, and Srinivas Gomase, who was in the Congress joined the BJP.


Published Mar 10, 2024 | 6:54 PMUpdatedMar 10, 2024 | 6:55 PM

BRS Congress leaders join BJP

Four BRS leaders, including two former MPs, and a Congress leader from Telangana joined the BJP on Sunday, 10 March, as the ruling party looks to boost its Lok Sabha tally in the southern state.

Those who joined the party are Godam Nagesh and Sitaram Nayak, both former MPs, former BRS MLAs Saidy Reddy and Jalagam Venkat Rao, and Srinivas Gomase, who was in the Congress.

The leaders praised Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s leadership.

Also Read: ‘Our activists will demolish walls of farmhouse’, Telangana CM Revanth Reddy

K Laxman inducts them into party

BJP leader and party parliamentary board member K Laxman welcomed them and said while the leaders of other parties are working for the future of their sons and daughters, Modi is working for the country.

BJP general secretary Tarun Chugh said on the occasion that people are fed-up with “dynastic and corrupt” parties and praised these leaders for their work in different capacities.

The BRS is now a “triple B party”, Chugh said, describing them as “baba, beta and baby”, a reference to its president K Chandrashekar Rao, his son and daughter.

These three ran a corrupt government in the state, he alleged.

Prime Minister Modi’s work for 10 years with zero tolerance against corruption has impressed the people, he said.

(Disclaimer: The headline, subheads, and intro of this report along with the photos may have been reworked by South First. The rest of the content is from a syndicated feed, and has been edited for style.)