Indian Mujahideen operative Syed Maqbool sentenced to 10 years in jail for his role in terror conspiracy

Maqbool is the fifth to be sentenced among 11 accused of carrying out various bomb blasts in Hyderabad and other cities in the country.

BySouth First Desk

Published Oct 27, 2023 | 1:03 AMUpdatedOct 27, 2023 | 1:04 AM

NIA arrests 17th accused from Hyderabad in Hizb-Ut-Tahrir terror module case.

Syed Maqbool an operative of the proscribed terror group Indian Mujahideen (IM) that is accused of carrying out twin bomb blasts in Hyderabad in 2013 and explosions in other major cities of the country, was sentenced to 10 years’ imprisonment by the NIA Special Court in New Delhi on Thursday, 26 October.

Maqbool was associated with the IM members and is the fifth to be sentenced among a total of 11 accused.

He was convicted on 22 September by the special judge of the NIA Special Court in New Delhi under Sections 38(2) and 39(2) of the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act, or UAPA.

Maqbool is from Nanded in Maharashtra, and was arrested in February 2013 for his active involvement with members of the IM, which is based in Pakistan and India, according to an official statement from the NIA.

Related: NIA court jails 4 IM terrorists for 10 years over multiple explosions

Close ties with IM operatives

It has been revealed that Maqbool maintained close ties with key figures of the IM, including Riyaz Bhatkal, who is based in Pakistan, and Imran Khan and Obaid-Ur-Rehman, who are located in India.

They hatched a conspiracy to carry out explosions at various locations within India, with Hyderabad being their primary target.

They had conducted extensive reconnaissance of important sites, including those in Hyderabad.

The case pertains to the conspiracy hatched by the members of the IM to commit acts of terror across India.

These acts of terror include the Varanasi blasts on 7 March, 2006; the Mumbai serial blasts on 11 July, 2006; the UP courts serial blasts in Varanasi, Faizabad, and Lucknow on 23 November, 2007; the Hyderabad twin blasts on 25 August 2007; the Jaipur serial blasts in 2008; the Delhi serial blasts in 2008; the Ahmedabad serial blasts on 26 July, 2008; the Chinnaswamy Stadium blast in Bengaluru in 2010; and the Hyderabad twin blasts in 2013.

Also read: Court orders framing of charges against Yasin Bhatkal, Danish Ansari

The sentencing

On 12 September, four accused — Danish Ansari, Aftab Alam, Imran Khan, and Obaid-Ur-Rehman — were found guilty under Sections 18, 19, 38(2), and 39(2) of the UAPA in the NIA case — RC-06/2012/NIA/DLI (IM conspiracy case). They were sentenced to 10 years of imprisonment.

On 31 March, charges were formally framed against Maqbool, along with 10 others, including Yasin Bhatkal, Asadullah Akhtar, Zia-Ur-Rehman, Tehsin Akhter, and Hyder Ali.

The sentencing was done by the NIA Special Court in New Delhi, under Sections 121 and 122 of the IPC, as well as Sections 17, 18, 19, 21, 38, 39, and 40 of the UAPA.

The trial in this case, pertaining to the remaining six accused persons named above, who face a range of charges under the IPC and the UA(P) Act, is going on.