BSP joins anti-BRS bandwagon over Medigadda barrage fiasco; releases list of 25 candidates

KCR is hiding facts regarding the Kaleshwaram project of which the Medigadda barrage is a part.

ByDeepika Pasham

Published Nov 04, 2023 | 9:50 PMUpdatedNov 04, 2023 | 9:50 PM


The BSP joined the anti-BRS bandwagon over the damaged Medigadda barrage while releasing its third list of 25 candidates for the 30 November Telangana Assembly elections on Saturday, 4 November.

“The family of KCR depicted the Kaleshwaram project as the eighth wonder and inaugurated it as if it was the Taj Mahal. Today, the police have surrounded it to hide the facts,” BSP state president and former IPS officer RS Praveen Kumar said while announcing the candidates.

He urged the people of Telangana to take note that the National Dam Safety Authority had reported that there were flaws in the design, execution, quality operation, and maintenance of the barrage.

“People living in the surrounding areas will be affected if it collapses. How were the loans given to the Telangana government without checking about the feasibility of these dams,” he sought to know.

Related: BSP manifesto focuses on educating and skilling youth

Kumar further stated that KCR, who had “looted the people” was seeking votes by projecting the projects and their efficiency. “The people of Telangana should remember that the government’s debts will take years to pay back.  A Commission should sell KCR’s assets and pay the people of Telangana,” he added.

The BJP and the Congress have already launched a broadside against KCR after the piers of the barrage sank.

Announcing the names of the 25 candidates, Kumar said “the poor people, minorities, Dalits, farmers, the unemployed and students” would support the BSP nominees. “They will bless the BSP,” he said.

The candidates are: Chennur (SC) – Dr Dasarapu Srinivas; Adilabad – Uyaka Indira; Armur – Gandikota Rajanna; Nizamabad (Rural) – Matamla Shekhar; Balkonda – Pallikonda Narsaiah; Karimnagar – Nallala Srinivas; Husnabad – Peddolla Srinivas Yadav; Narsapur – Kuthadi Narsimhulu; Sangareddy – Palpanuri Shekhar; Medchal – Mallepogu Vijaya Raju; Quthbullapur – Mohd Lamra Ahmed; LB Nagar – Guvvala Sai Rama Krishna Mudiraj; Rajendranagar – Rachamalla Jayasimha (Revised); Amberpet – Prof Anwar Khan (Revised); Karwan – Alepu Anjaiah; Goshamahal – Khairuddin Ahmed; Narayanpet – Bodhigeli Srinivas; Jadcherla – Shiva Vulkundakhar; Alampur (SC) – Makula Chenna Keshava Rao; Parkal – Amudalapally Mallesham Goud; Bhupalpally – Gajji Jithender Yadav; Khammam – Aithagani Srinivas Goud; Sathupally (SC) – Seelam Venkeshwar Rao; and Narayankhed – Mohd Alauddin Patel.