BRS wins Mahbubnagar MLC bypoll in Telangana; KTR says it indicates voters’ rejection of Congress

KCR said that the victory was proof that the wheel of fortune continues to rotate and that BRS workers should look forward to better days.

ByRaj Rayasam

Published Jun 02, 2024 | 5:04 PMUpdatedJun 02, 2024 | 5:04 PM

BRS wins MLC by election in Mahbubnagar

The news of the victory of the BRS candidate N Naveen Kumar Reddy on Sunday, 2 June, in the by-election to the Legislative Council from the Mahbubnagar Local Authorities constituency, has come as a shot in the arm at a time when the party’s spirits are at their lowest ebb with exit polls painting a dismal picture for it in the Lok Sabha elections.

Naveen Kumar Reddy defeated his Congress rival Manne Jeevan Reddy with a margin of 109 votes. For the Congress, however, it is a setback as the constituency is located in Chief Minster A Revanth Reddy’s native district of Mahbubnagar.

For the BRS, the news could not have been sweeter as it came at a time when it was celebrating the decennial celebrations of Telangana State Formation Day.

While speaking at the celebrations, BRS supremo and former Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao said that the victory was proof that the wheel of fortune continues to rotate and that the party workers should look forward to better days to come.

He congratulated the workers who had ensured the victory for the BRS in the by-election. He said the victory of BRS candidate A Rakesh Reddy in the Warangal, Khammam and Nalgonda graduates’ constituency is fait accompli. Counting votes for this by-election would occur on 5 June.

Related: What it means for Revanth Reddy if Congress loses in his home turf in the upcoming Lok Sabha polls?

Mahbubnagar by-election

Polling for the by-election was held on 28 March and counting of votes took place on Sunday, 2 June. The total number of voters was 1,439 of whom 1437 voters cast their votes. Of the votes cast, 21 were declared invalid. Naveen Kumar Reddy polled 762 votes while Jeevan Reddy of Congress secured 653 votes.

The by-election was necessitated by the election of the incumbent MLC Kasireddy Narayana Reddy to the Assembly from Kalwakurthy in the recent Assembly elections on a Congress ticket.

Also Read: Women voters and transfer of votes, the two decisive factors in Lok Sabha polls 2024

Public opinion about Congress is changing: KTR

Congratulating Naveen Kumar Reddy, BRS working president KT Rama Rao described his victory as an indication of changing public opinion about the Congress. He said it was heartening to note that the BRS candidate won the by-election in a district represented by Chief Minister A Revanth Reddy.

“Naveen Reddy’s victory is an expression of the voters’ rejection of the Congress policies in the state. The victory has proved that only the BRS is the party of the state and every home,” he said.

Meanwhile, Prohibition and Excise Minister Jupally Krishna Ra, who hails from Mahbubnagar district said though the Congress lost the election, it has improved its strength significantly. He noted that KTR should talk about his party’s prospects after the Lok Sabha election results are out on 4 June and cautioned him that one swallow does not make a summer.

He predicted that after 4 June, when the results for the Lok Sabha elections are announced, there would be no one left in the BRS camp.

(Edited by Neena)