BRS suffers yet another knock: Former MLA Bethi Subhas Reddy joins BJP

Subhas Reddy said in his letter to KCR he was disillusioned with BRS after it nominated Ragidi Laxma Reddy for the Malkajgiri Lok Sabha seat.

ByRaj Rayasam

Published Apr 18, 2024 | 8:13 PMUpdatedApr 18, 2024 | 8:13 PM

Bethi Subhas Reddy with KCR

BRS, which is trying to bounce back and stay politically relevant, suffered yet another body blow on Thursday, 18 April.

Former Uppal MLA Bethi Subhas Reddy dashed off a letter to the party supremo K Chandrashekar Rao saying he was quitting the party.

He expressed solidarity with the BJP candidate for Malkajgiri Eatala Rajender.

He then joined BJP in the presence of Central minister Hardeep Singh Puri at Rajender’s residence in Shameerpet in Hyderabad.

In his letter to KCR, Subhas Reddy said he had worked hard and ensured the victory of the party nominee for Uppal, Bandari Laxma Reddy, in the 2023 Telangana Assembly elections.

He said he was disillusioned with the party after it nominated Ragidi Laxma Reddy for the Malkajgiri Lok Sabha seat.

Bethi Subhas Reddy represented Uppal in the Assembly between 2018 and 2023, but KCR did not renominate him for the 2023 Assembly elections.

Subhas Reddy won the election in 2018 with a margin of over 48,000 votes over his nearest rival: TDP’s Tulla Veerendra Goud.

Uppal is one of the 24 Assembly segments that are part of Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHCM).

Telangana poll fallout: Despite KCR’s best efforts, BRS leaders keep leaving

Exodus continues

Subhas Reddy is the latest BRS leader to desert the party despite KCR trying to retain them following its loss in the Assembly elections.

He is trying to convince them that the party may be down but is not out, and that it has better days ahead.

He has been hinting at the possibility of the downfall of the Congress after the Lok Sabha elections, indicating that the BRS might come back to power.

Several sitting MPs, MLAs, former legislators, zilla parishad (ZP) chairmen, and ZPTCs and MPTCs at the village level have already left BRS and joined either Congress or BJP in recent months.

As far as BJP is concerned, it has already spirited away Zaheerabad MP BB Patil, Nagarkurnool Lok Sabha member P Ramulu, Wardhannapet former MLA Aroori Ramesh, and Huzurnagar former MLA Sanampudi Sidi Reddy from BRS.

(Edited by Arkadev Ghoshal)