AIMIM’s Akbaruddin Owaisi is named the pro-tem Speaker in the Telangana Assembly

The nomination of Owaisi as the pro-tem speaker is seen as the first sign of the thawing of the ice between the AIMIM and the Congress.

ByRaj Rayasam

Published Dec 08, 2023 | 6:05 PMUpdatedDec 08, 2023 | 6:05 PM

Akbaruddin Owaisi (Flikr)

AIMIM leader Akbaruddin Owaisi was named the pro-team Speaker on Friday, 8 December, a day ahead of the commencement of the third Telangana Assembly headed by Chief Minister A Revanth Reddy.

Akbaruddin Owaisi will be sworn in by Governor Tamilisai Soundararajan as pro-tem Speaker at the Raj Bhavan. Later, he would administer the oath of office and secrecy to the newly-elected members at 8.30 am on Saturday, 9 December.

Akabaruddin, a six-time MLA and younger brother of Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi, will remain the Speaker of the Assembly until a new Speaker is elected.

The Congress has already named Vikarabad legislator and former minister Gaddam Prasad Kumar as the Speaker-designate.

The nomination of Owaisi as the pro-tem Speaker has been seen as the first sign of the thawing of ice between the AIMIM and the Congress.

Related: Telangana CM Revanth Reddy holds Praja Darbar at Praja Bhavan

The AIMIM has supported the BRS in its two tenures during the past 10 years. It had backed the Congress when it was in power before the bifurcation of the state in 2014.

The first session of the Assembly is expected to last for two days, starting 9 December.

The newly elected MLAs were curious to know the pro-tem Speaker since former chief minister K Chandrashekar Rao, an eight-time MLA, is the senior-most member in the Assembly eight times.

He is now under treatment at Yashoda Hospital after suffering a hip fracture in a fall at his farmhouse in Siddipet’s Erravelli early on Friday.

Other senior MLAs are former speaker Pocharam Srinivas Reddy, Thalasani Srinivas Yadav, and Danam Nagender, all elected to the Assembly six times.

Though there are Uttam Kumar Reddy and Thummala Nageswara Rao who have been elected to the Assembly six times, neither of them could be the pro-tem Speaker since both have been included in the Cabinet.

Related: Revanth leaves for Delhi, amid speculation on Cabinet portfolios