Tamilisai Soundararajan rejoins BJP, expresses wish to contest elections

Terming her resignation as the Governor a tough decision, Tamilisai Soundararajan said she is happy to get back her BJP membership card.

BySouth First Desk

Published Mar 20, 2024 | 1:29 PMUpdatedMar 20, 2024 | 1:30 PM

Tamilisai Soundararajan rejoins BJP

Former Telangana Governor Tamilisai Soundararajan rejoined the BJP two days after she resigned as Telangana Governor and Lieutenant Governor of Puducherry.

Amid the speculation that she might contest the upcoming Lok Sabha polls, Tamilisai expressed her wish to return to electoral politics while addressing the media in Chennai, on Wednesday, 20 March.

Reiterating that she had expressed her wish to the party leadership she said, “I want to contest elections.”

Terming her resignation as the Governor a tough decision, Soundararajan said she is happy to get back her BJP membership card.

Emphasising that the “lotus will bloom” in Tamil Nadu, the former Governor said she doesn’t have even an iota of regret over her decision to relinquish the gubernatorial post.

On Monday, 18 March, Soundararajan sent her resignation to President Droupadi Murmu. Before she was appointed the Governor, she was the chief of BJP in Tamil Nadu.

According to sources, Soundararajan is likely to contest from either Thoothukudi or Central Chennai.

In 2019, Tamilisai contested from Thoothukudi and lost to DMK supremo M Karunanidhi’s daughter, Kanimozhi. Tamilisai secured 2,15,934 votes (21.77 ) percent as the runner-up.

Also read: Tamilisai quits as governor

Former Tamil Nadu BJP chief

Soundararajan, who has been serving as the Governor of Telangana since September 2019, and Lieutenant Governor of Puducherry since February 2021, was the national secretary and Tamil Nadu state unit president of the BJP.

She held multiple roles in the Tamil Nadu state BJP unit, commencing as the South Chennai district medical wing secretary in 1999.

In 2001, she assumed the position of state general secretary of the Medical Wing, followed by her appointment as All India Co-Convenor (Medical Wing for Southern States) in 2005.

Soundararajan later became the state general secretary in 2007, and then the state vice president in 2010. She was eventually elevated as the national secretary of All India BJP in 2013.

Also Read: PM Modi to address rally in TN as part of South push

Previous elections

The leader had till now contested five elections from BJP, two Lok Sabha, and three assembly elections, but didn’t win any of them.

  • 2006: From Radhapuram Assembly constituency; lost to M Appavu of DMK
  • 2009: From Chennai North Lok Sabha constituency; lost to TKS Elangovan from DMK
  • 2011: From Velachery Assembly constituency; lost to MK Ashok from AIADMK
  • 2016: From Virugampakkam Assembly Constituency; lost to Virugai VN Ravi from AIADMK
  • 2019: From Thoothukudi Lok Sabha Constituency; lost to Kanimozhi Karunanidhi from DMK

(Edited by Sumavarsha Kandula)