Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Stalin lauds Uma Kumaran on getting elected to UK Parliament

Uma Kumaran first-ever Member of Parliament for Stratford and Bow constituency.


Published Jul 06, 2024 | 11:17 AM Updated Jul 06, 2024 | 11:17 AM

UK MP Uma Kumaran

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister MK Stalin on Friday, 5 July, congratulated Uma Kumaran on becoming the first-ever Member of Parliament for Stratford and Bow constituency and the first-ever Tamil woman to become a member of the UK Parliament.

Lauding Uma Kumaran for her achievement, Stalin said in a post on the social media platform X “You bring great pride to the Tamil community.”

Taking to X, Uma Kumaran wrote, “It is the honour of my life to be elected to serve as the first ever member of parliament for Stratford and Bow.”

British Prime Minister Rishi Sunak conceded defeat on Friday as his Conservative Party was on course for one of its worst election defeats and the Keir Starmer-led Labour Party hurtled towards a landslide victory in the historic UK election.

Also Read: Short-term exposure to pollution kills several people in Chennai,Bengaluru, Hyderabad

Indian origin MPs

A record number of around 28 Indian-origin members of Parliament have been elected to the House of Commons in the UK’s general election as results were announced on Friday, with several Conservatives surviving an overall brutal outcome for their party.

Other prominent British Indian Tories, apart from Rishi Sunak, holding on to their seats included former home secretaries, Suella Braverman and Priti Patel, as did Sunak’s Goan-origin Cabinet ally Claire Coutinho.

Gagan Mohindra held on to his South West Hertfordshire seat for the Conservatives, with Shivani Raja registering a gain for the party in the keenly watched constituency of Leicester East where she was contesting against fellow Indian-origin Labour candidate Rajesh Agrawal.

Reflective of the overall election results tally, it was the Labour Party that saw the maximum number of winning Indian diaspora candidates, starting with party veterans such as Seema Malhotra – who held on to her Feltham and Heston constituency with a comfortable margin. Goan-origin Valerie Vaz, sister of Keith Vaz, won in Walsall and Bloxwich, as did Lisa Nandy with a big margin in Wigan.

British Sikh MPs Preet Kaur Gill, who defeated Tory first-timer Ashvir Sangha, and Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi both won back their seats for Labour in Birmingham Edgbaston and Slough respectively. Navendu Mishra (Stockport) and Nadia Whittome (Nottingham East) were among the other Labour MPs re-elected with convincing majorities.


It was among the newcomers that British Indians made a big mark for the Labour Party, with Jas Athwal (Ilford South), Baggy Shanker (Derby South), Satvir Kaur (Southampton Test), Harpreet Uppal (Huddersfield), Warinder Juss (Wolverhampton West), Gurinder Josan (Smethwick), Kanishka Narayan (Vale of Glamorgan), Sonia Kumar (Dudley), Sureena Brackenbridge (Wolverhampton North East), Kirith Entwistle (Bolton North East), Jeevun Sandher (Loughborough) and Sojan Joseph (Ashford) among those set to take their seats in Parliament next week.

(Disclaimer: The headline, subheads, and intro of this report along with the photos may have been reworked by South First. The rest of the content is from a syndicated feed, and has been edited for style.)

(South First is now on WhatsApp and Telegram)