Tamil Maanila Congress gives up Erode East constituency for AIADMK

Tamil Maanila Congress President GK Vasan announced his party will not contest the Erode East constituency byelection.

ByVinodh Arulappan

Published Jan 20, 2023 | 10:20 AM Updated Jan 20, 2023 | 10:20 AM

Tamil Maanila Congress chief GK Vasan, at centre. Erode East constituency byelection

Tamil Maanila Congress (TMC) President GK Vasan has declared that his party will not contest the Erode East constituency byelection that is scheduled for 27 February.

In a statement issued on Friday, 20 January, Vasan said that former ministers of the AIADMK met him yesterday (Thursday) at the TMC party headquarters and conveyed their wish to contest the byelection.

“After consulting with party functionaries, and considering the current political scenario, and the upcoming Parliament elections, it would be appropriate for AIADMK, the principal party of the alliance, to contest in the Erode East constituency,” Vasan said.

Vasan said the TMC had arrived at the decision after considering the welfare of the people of the state. He also appealed to his cadre to cooperate with the party’s allies in the election campaign.

The byelection to the Erode East constituency was necessitated by the death of Congress MLA Thirumagan Everaa, son of former Union minister EVKS Elangovan and great grandson of social reformer ‘Periyar’ EV Ramasamy.

The schedule

The Election Commission of India had, on 18 January, announced the Assembly election dates for three Northeast states — Nagaland, Tripura and Meghalaya — apart from the byelection in the Erode East constituency.

Nominations to contest in the byelection would be accepted till 31 January. The last day of the scrutiny of the nominations will be 18 February.

The election would be held on 27 February and the counting of votes will take place on 2 March.

In the last election, the TMC candidate M Yuvaraja contested on the AIADMK’s Two Leaves symbol and lost to the Congress candidate, the late Thirumagan, by 8,904 votes. Yuvaraja had secured 58,396 votes.