Congress poll committee discusses candidates for Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu

The committee discussed several candidates for the nine constituencies that have come in the Congress' share in its alliance with the DMK.

BySouth First Desk

Published Mar 22, 2024 | 7:43 PMUpdatedMar 22, 2024 | 7:43 PM

The Congress' Central Election Committee meeting, which decided on the list of candidates.

The top Congress leadership met in New Delhi on Friday, 22 March, to discuss and finalise its candidates for nine Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu.

The party’s Central Election Committee (CEC) met under the chairmanship of Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge, with former party chief Rahul Gandhi in attendance. Congress Parliamentary Party chairperson Sonia Gandhi was, however, not present during the meeting.

The committee discussed several candidates for the nine Lok Sabha constituencies in Tamil Nadu that have come in the Congress’ share in its alliance with the DMK.

AICC general secretary (organisation) KC Venugopal and party leaders from Tamil Nadu were present at the meeting.

Senior Congress leaders Ajoy Kumar and Harish Chaudhary were also present.

Also Read: Raadhika Sarathkumar in BJP’s fresh list of 14 Lok Sabha candidates for TN

DMK announced candidates

The ruling party in Tamil Nadu and a major partner in the Opposition’s INDIA bloc, DMK, on Wednesday released the list of candidates for 21 seats for the polls, among those that MK Stalin-led DMK has retained as candidates are sitting MPs Kanimozhi, TR Baalu and A Raja.

DMK has allotted the rest of the 18 seats in Tamil Nadu to its allies — Congress, Left parties and VCK among others.

Of the 21 names the ruling party fielded, 11 were new faces, even as three women, including sitting South Chennai MP Tamizhachi Thangapandian were named.

Dayanidhi Maran, S Jagathrakshakan, Kalanidhi Veerasamy, Kathir Anand and CN Annadurai were also retained as candidates.

MK Stalin’s party also released its manifesto for the polls, touching upon other subjects like the appointment of Governors and the abolition of Article 356.

In its manifesto, the party, among others, promised to take steps for states being consulted on the appointment of Governors, abolition of Article 356 that allowed the Centre to dismiss a state government and statehood for Puducherry.

(With PTI inputs)