11 new faces in DMK candidate list for 21 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu

DMK has allotted the rest of the 18 seats in Tamil Nadu to its allies —Congress, Left parties and VCK among others.

BySouth First Desk

Published Mar 20, 2024 | 12:28 PMUpdatedMar 20, 2024 | 2:09 PM

dmk candidate list lok sabha

All the controversies A Raja has landed in over ‘Sanatana dharma’ remarks made no difference to Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) that has retained his candidature.

The ruling party in Tamil Nadu and a major partner in Opposition’s INDIA bloc, DMK, on Wednesday released the list of candidates for 21 seats for the April 19 Lok Sabha polls. Among those that MK Stalin-led DMK has retained as candidates are sitting MPs Kanimozhi, TR Baalu and A Raja.

DMK has allotted the rest of the 18 seats in Tamil Nadu to its allies —Congress, Left parties and VCK among others.

Of the 21 names the ruling party fielded, 11 were new faces, even as three women, including sitting South Chennai MP Tamizhachi Thangapandian were named.

Dayanidhi Maran, S Jagathrakshakan, Kalanidhi Veerasamy, Kathir Anand and C N Annadurai were also retained as candidates.

MK Stalin’s party also released its manifesto for the polls, touching upon other subjects like appointment of Governors and abolition of Article 356.

In its manifesto, the party, among others, promised to take steps for states being consulted on appointment of Governors, abolition of Article 356 that allowed the Centre to dismiss a state government and statehood for Puducherry.

Also Read: INDIA bloc wraps up seat allocation in Tamil Nadu: 3 Congress seats replaced

DMK’s candidate list 

Sriperumbudur — TR Baalu

Thoothukudi — Kanimozhi Karunanidhi 

Nilgiris (SC) — A Raja

Central Chennai — Dayanidhi Maran

Arakkonam — S Jagatratsakan

North Chennai — Dr Kalanithi Veerasamy

South Chennai — Tamilachi Thangapandian

Kancheepuram (SC) — G. Selvam

Vellore — Kathir Anand

Dharmapuri — A Mani

Tiruvannamalai — CN Annadurai

Arani — Dharani Vendan

Kallakurichi — Malaiarasan

Salem — TM Selvaganapati

Erode — KE Prakash

Coimbatore – Ganapathi P Rajkumar

Pollachi — K Iswarasamy

Perambalur — Arun Nehru

Thanjavur — Murasoli

Theni — Thanga Tamilselvan

Tenkasi (SC) — Dr Rani

The seat allocation exercise that was posing a challenge to INDIA bloc parties in Tamil Nadu was finally wrapped up on Monday. Congress is yet to announce candidates for the nine seats it will contest in Tamil Nadu.

Also Read: DMK allots Madurai, Dindigul to CPI(M), Nagapattinam and Tiruppur to CPI