Telugu states unrepresented in BJP poll manifesto panel

BJP says composition of the election manifesto is not based on the principle that every state should have representation.

BySouth First Desk

Published Mar 31, 2024 | 8:56 AMUpdatedMar 31, 2024 | 8:56 AM

Narendra Modi

Telangana and Andhra Pradesh have no representation in BJP’s 27-member Election Manifesto Committee, announced on Saturday. Rajeev Chandrasekhar from Karnataka, Anil Antony from Kerala, and Nirmala Sitharaman from Tamil Nadu represent the southern states in the committee. The BJP, eyeing the BRS-vacated political space in Telangana, still did not include anyone from the state. It has limited stakes in Andhra.

Read the full story here.