Opposition to Mahtab as pro-tem Speaker grows

Several Congress leaders have raised objections to Mahtab's appointment to the post since Kodikunnil Suresh has served more terms in the House.

BySouth First Desk

Published Jun 23, 2024 | 10:00 AMUpdatedJun 23, 2024 | 10:00 AM

first-time MPs Lok Sabha

Amid objections to BJP’s Bhartruhari Mahtab as the pro-tem Speaker, Opposition leaders nominated to the panel of chairpersons to assist him are considering rejecting the positions, a source said on Saturday, 22 June. They are Congress leader Kodikunnil Suresh, TMC leader Sudip Bandyopadhyay, and DMK leader TR Baalu. They want senior-most MP Suresh to be the pro-tem Speaker.

Read the full story here.