Ground Report: Belagavi contest a test for BJP’s Jagadish Shettar

Former Karnataka chief minister Jagadish Shettar is in the fray on a BJP ticket, but is not guaranteed to win.

BySouth First Desk

Published May 06, 2024 | 2:00 PMUpdatedMay 06, 2024 | 2:00 PM

Belagavi ground report

Historically a Congress stronghold, the Belagavi Lok Sabha constituency has been dominated by BJP since 2004. BJP’s Suresh Angadi defeated Congress’ VS Sadhunavar by a record margin of 3.91 lakh votes in 2019. Making efforts to breach BJP fort, Congress has fielded Murnal Hebbalkar, son of Minister for Women and Child Welfare Laxmi Hebbalkar against BJP’s returning defector, Jagadish Shettar.

Read the full story here