51 of 131 southern MPs are first-timers

The five South Indian states and 2 UTs elected 51 first-time MPs. Former IAS officer Sasikanth Senthil won with the highest margin.

BySouth First Desk

Published Jun 08, 2024 | 12:45 PMUpdatedJun 08, 2024 | 12:45 PM

S Sasikanth Senthil, will be fighting the Lok Sabha election from Tiruvallur Parliamentary Constituency in Tamil Nadu (supplied)

The five South Indian states witnessed the emergence of 51 first-time MPs — 16 in Karnataka, 14 in Tamil Nadu, 13 in Andhra Pradesh, five in Telangana and three in Kerala. Former bureaucrat Sasikanth Senthil of the Congress secured Tiruvallur with a substantial margin of 5,72,155 votes against Balaganapathy V Pon of the BJP – the highest among first-timers.

Read the full story here