Lok Sabha polls: Priyanka, Siddaramaiah in Chidambaram-led Congress Manifesto Committee

Former Chhattisgarh deputy chief minister TS Singh Deo has been made the convenor of the important panel.


Published Dec 23, 2023 | 5:02 PMUpdatedDec 23, 2023 | 5:02 PM

Congress manifesto committee

The Congress has constituted its Manifesto Committee for the 2024 Lok Sabha polls and appointed former Union Minister P Chidambaram as its chairman.

Former deputy chief minister of Chhattisgarh TS Singh Deo has been made the convenor of the important panel.

The 16-member panel includes Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and Congress general secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra.

On Saturday, 23 December, Siddaramaiah expressed his gratitude to the Congress president for appointing him as a member of the party’s manifesto committee.

In a statement, he said, “I thank AICC president Mallikarjun Kharge for appointing me as a member of the Congress Party’s manifesto committee for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.”

The Karnataka model 

The chief minister said the country recognises the Karnataka model of governance.

“Today, people across the country recognise our government’s ‘Karnataka Model’ of governance as a non-partisan benchmark. Being given the opportunity in the manifesto drafting is an honour I perceive as AICC’s recognition of this ‘Karnataka Model of Governance’,” he explained.

According to the party’s manifesto, it is not just a list of promises to the voters. It is a commitment we make to the people and implementing it is the true essence of governance, he said.

“Our previous government had implemented more than 95 percent of the promises in the manifesto, providing equal opportunity and balanced development, thereby earning the trust of the people.

“The current government is also going on the same path. I hope that in the coming days, the people of the country will also benefit from the advantages of the Karnataka Model of governance,” Siddaramaiah said.

“I am thankful to the senior leaders of the party, Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi, for supporting all my welfare and infrastructure initiatives,” the chief minister said.

Also Read: Congress gets into poll mode, says LS candidates

The committee

The development comes a day after a crucial Congress Working Committee (CWC) meeting where the party discussed its Lok Sabha poll strategy and said it would announce the names of its candidates soon.

“The Congress president has constituted the Manifesto Committee for the upcoming General Election 2024 with immediate effect,” according to a statement issued by the party on Friday, 22 December.

Former Union ministers Anand Sharma, Jairam Ramesh and Shashi Tharoor are also part of the committee.

Senior Congress leader and former Manipur deputy chief minister Gaikhangam and the party’s deputy leader in the Lok Sabha Gaurav Gogoi are also on the committee, along with All India Professionals Congress chief Praveen Chakravarty.

The other members of the key panel, which will finalise the party’s agenda for the election, are Imran Pratapgarhi, K Raju, Omkar Singh Markam, Ranjeet Ranjan, Jignesh Mevani and Gurdeep Sappal.

Also Read: BJP’s national office-bearers meet with eye on Lok Sabha polls

(Disclaimer: The headline, subheads, and intro of this report along with the photos may have been reworked by South First. The rest of the content is from a syndicated feed, and has been edited for style.)