These women will represent the Telugu states in Lok Sabha

In all, 73 women won the Lok Sabha elections across India this time, which was slightly lower than 78 in 2019.

ByDeepika Pasham

Published Jun 06, 2024 | 7:00 AMUpdatedJun 06, 2024 | 10:31 AM

These women will represent the Telugu states in Lok Sabha

In the two Telugu states of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh, at least 14 women candidates were announced in the first lists of the top political parties for the just-concluded Lok Sabha elections.

Of them, two from Telangana and three from Andhra Pradesh are going to Parliament this time.

One notable candidate was Kadiyam Kavya from Telangana, daughter of senior politician Kadiyam Srihari.

She left BRS after being announced as its candidate from the Warangal (SC) seat and joined Congress, which then nominated her for the same seat.

Kavya secured a significant victory by a large margin of votes. Including her, the total number of women candidates fielded by major political parties from the two Telugu states stood at 15.

Among them, five women — three from Andhra Pradesh and two from Telangana — will represent the Telugu states in Parliament.

In all, 73 women won the Lok Sabha elections across India this time, which was slightly lower than 78 in 2019.

Of the total women MPs elected to the Lower House from across the country, West Bengal is leading with 11 female MPs.

Lok Sabha election 2024: 73 women elected to Lower House, down from 78 in 2019

Women in Telangana

In Telangana, BJP announced DK Aruna from Mahabubnagar and Madhavi Latha from Hyderabad. BRS fielded Maloth Kavitha from Mahabubabad (ST).

Congress picked Athram Suguna for Adilabad (ST), Kadiyam Kavya for Warangal (SC), and Patnam Suneetha Mahender Reddy for the Malkajgiri constituency.

Aruna won from Mahabubnagar by a thin margin of 4,500 votes over Congress’ Challa Vamshi Chand Reddy.

In Warangal, Congress’ Kadiyam Kavya won by a majority of 2,20,339 votes against Aroori Ramesh of BJP.

First-time contestant Madhavi Latha got nearly 3,23,894 votes and was second in Hyderabad, with Asaduddin Owaisi being the winner.

Athram Suguna was also second as she secured 4,77,516 votes against Godam Nagesh of BJP, who won with 5,68,168 votes.

Patnam Suneetha Mahender Reddy was second as well, with 5,99,567 votes against BJP’s Eatala Rajender, who polled 9,91,042 votes.

Even Maloth Kavitha from Mahabubabad (ST) was in the second position with 2,63,609 votes against Congress’ Balram Naik Porika, who won with 6,12,774 votes.

Also Read: In a first, BRS won’t have a Lok Sabha member as it draws a blank

Women in Andhra Pradesh

Meanwhile, three women candidates will be representing Andhra Pradesh in Parliament.

For the Lok Sabha elections, the YSRCP fielded four women candidates, Congress two, BJP two, and TDP one in the state.

Among these, one candidate each won from YSRCP, BJP, and TDP.

From YSRCP, Gumma Thanuja Rani (4,77,005 votes) defeated BJP’s Kothapalli Geetha (4,26,425 votes) from the Araku (SC) constituency.

TDP’s Dr Byreddy Shabari won from Nandyal with 7,01,131 votes against YSRCP’s Pocha Brahmananda Reddy (5,89,156 votes).

BJP’s Daggubati Purandheshwari won with 7,26,515 votes against YSRCP’s Dr Guduri Srinivas (4,87,376 votes) in Rajahmundry.

The losing candidate included Congress’ Kavuri Lavanyam from Eluru, who secured only 2,086 votes and Congress’ YS Sharmila Reddy from Kadapa, who polled 1,41,039 votes.

YSRCP’s J Shantha was in the second position in Hindupur with 5,93,107 votes.

The party’s Umabala Guduri was also second: She polled 4,30,541 votes in Narasapuram against BJP’s Bhupathi Raju Srinivasa Varma, who won with 7,07,342 votes.

In Visakhapatnam, YSRCP’s Jhansi Lakshmi Botcha was second with 4,03,220 votes against TDP’s Sri Bharat Mathukumili.