Telangana government announces transfers, postings of IAS, IPS officers; Sandeep Shandilya new CP of Hyderabad

DGP Anjani Kumar congratulates Shandilya and wishes others the best as the officers are asked to report by 4 pm on Friday.

ByDeepika Pasham

Published Oct 13, 2023 | 10:44 PMUpdatedOct 16, 2023 | 4:42 PM

Sandeep Shandilya new Commissioner of Police of Hyderabad.

The Telangana government has announced the transfers and postings of IAS and IPS officials, with Sandeep Shandilya set to be the new Commissioner of Police of Hyderabad.

This follows the orders of the Election Commission of India (ECI) to transfer the senior commissioners of police, the superintendents of police of around 10 districts, and a few IAS officers.

The ECI had declared that free and fair polls in Telangana was not possible with the presence of these officials.  On 13 October, the GOs were issued regarding postings of officers in the earlier posts.

An order regarding the appointment of IPS officer Sandeep Shandilya as the commissioner of police, Hyderabad, was issued by the Chief Secretary A Santhi Kumari.

About his new role, Shandilya told South First, “I am a man of conventional policing and I will make sure that the police adopt the latest technological advances and will also interact with police on ground to asses how much justice is being served to the people of Telangana.”

Also read:  Intellectuals find fault with lines in ‘Bharathi Bharathi Uyyalo’ song 

About Shandilya

Shandilya, a 1993 batch officer, was last posted as the director of the Telangana State Police Academy (TSPA). He has earlier served as additional DG, Railways and Road Safety, DG, Prisons, CIS, and also police commissioner of Cyberabad.

Also, Rachakonda Joint Commissioner Ambar Kishore Jha has been transferred and posted as police commissioner, Warangal, and Cyberabad Deputy Commissioner (crimes) Kalmeshwar Shingenwar has been transferred and posted as Nizamabad police commissioner.

Director General of Police, Telangana, Anjani Kumar has posted on X. “Best wishes to the officers for the new inning. May God Almighty bless you with success and professional satisfaction.”

“Hearty congratulations! Dear Sandeep for becoming the new Commissioner of Police, Hyderabad City,” he added.

Also read: Nara Lokesh-Amit Shah meeting: More to do with Kamma votes 

Other officers’ transfers

Hyderabad City Deputy Commissioner Southeast/West Zone Chennuri Rupesh has been transferred as Sangareddy Superintendent of Police and TSSP Fourth Battalion Commander Ch Sindhu Sharma has been posted as Kamareddy SP.

Assistant IG (L&O) in DGP’s office Sunpreet Singh has been transferred as SP of Jagtiyal. Cyberabad DCP (Traffic-1) Harshvardhan has been posted as Mahbubnagar SP.

Peddapally DCP Gaikwad Vaibhav Raghunath is posted as Nagarkurnool SP, Cyberabad DCP (Crimes) Ritiraj (Jogulamba-Gadwal SP), TSRTC (Vigilance) SP Patil Sangram Singh Ganapatrao (Mahbubabad SP) and Cyberabad DCP (Admn) Yogesh Gautham (Narayanpet SP).

Two other officers Hyderabad city south zone DCP Khare Kiran Prabhakar and city DCP (traffic-I) BK Rahul Hegde have been posted as SPs of Jayashankar Bhupalpally and Suryapet.

The GO also said that all the officers must assume charge by 4 pm on Friday, 13 October, and report compliance.

Also read: YSRTP to contest all 119 Assembly constituencies in Telangana

IAS transfers

In IAS transfers, Energy Department Special Chief Secretary Sunil Sharma has been transferred and posted as special chief secretary excise, commercial taxes and endowments, relieving Chief Secretary A Santhi Kumari from the additional posts she was holding.

Industries and Commerce Secretary Jyothi Buddha Prakash has been transferred as prohibition and excise commissioner, and Tribal Welfare Secretary Christina Z Chongthu has been posted as commercial taxes commissioner in place of TK Sridevi who was transferred by the ECI.

Environment Protection Training and Research Institute (EPTRI) Director General A Vani Prasad has been posted as the Transport Department’s principal secretary in place of KS Srinivasa Raju.

Among the district collectors, Women and Child Welfare Development Commissioner Bharati Hollikeri has been posted as Rangareddy district collector and SERP CEO Gowtham Potru has been posted as Medchal Malkajgiri collector. Agriculture Special Commissioner Zendage Hanumant Kondiba has been posted as Yadadri Bhongir collector.

Chief Commissioner of Land Administration (CCLA) Special Officer Ashish Sangwan has been posted as Nirmal collector.