Lok Sabha elections 2024: Owaisi, Yusuf Pathan among 24 Muslim candidates to win, two less than 2019 polls

Congress has seven Muslim MPs, while TMC and SP have five and four respectively after results to Lok Sabha elections 2024 were announced.


Published Jun 06, 2024 | 9:30 AM Updated Jun 06, 2024 | 9:30 AM

Muslim candidates who won Lok Sabha polls 2024

As many as 24 Muslim candidates across the country have won the Lok Sabha elections and the list includes cricketer Yusuf Pathan of the TMC from Bahrampur in West Bengal and Congress’ Rakibul Hussain from Dhubri in Assam.

However, the community’s presence in the 18th Lok Sabha has reduced marginally from 26 last time, even though it is higher than the 2014 tally when 23 Muslim candidates were elected to the lower house of Parliament.

As many as 78 Muslims were in the fray in the Lok Sabha elections this year, a significant drop from the last polls when 115 Muslim candidates were fielded by various parties.

Among the Muslim candidates who won this time, Rakibul Hussain’s victory in Dhubri was significant in terms of the winning margin. The Congress candidate secured 14.71 lakh votes and defeated his nearest rival Mohammad Badruddin Ajmal by one of the highest margins of about 10 lakh votes.

On the other hand, first-time contender Yusuf Pathan beat Congress leader in the Lok Sabha and six-time MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury by 85,022 votes in his Baharampur bastion in West Bengal.

Related: India’s democracy is not as dead as we thought: World media says aura of ‘invincibility’ around PM Modi ‘shattered’ in India elections

Congress candidate from Uttar Pradesh’s Saharanpur, Imran Masood, won by a margin of 64,542 votes while Iqra Choudhary, a 29-year-old Samajwadi Party candidate from Kairana, secured victory over BJP’s Pradeep Kumar by 69,116 votes.

Afzal Ansari, the incumbent MP from Ghazipur and the younger brother of gangster-politician Mukhtar Ansari, retained the seat by bagging 5.3 lakh votes while 28-year-old Iqra Choudhary won the Kairana seat by a margin of over 69,000 votes. Samajwadi Party’s Mohibbullah won the Rampur seat by securing 4,81,503 votes, while Zia Ur Rehman won in Sambhal by a margin of 1.2 lakh votes.

AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi retained his Hyderabad seat by a margin of 3,38,087 votes over his nearest rival BJP’s Madhavi Latha Kompella.

In Jammu and Kashmir, National Conference’s Srinagar candidate Aga Syed Ruhullah Mehdi, a prominent Shia leader, secured 3,56,866 votes and won by a margin of 1.88 lakh votes against his nearest rival PDP’s Waheed-ur-Rehman Parra.

Mian Altaf Ahmad of the National Conference won in Anantnag-Rajouri by 2,81,794 votes against former Jammu and Kashmir CM Mehbooba Mufti.

In Ladakh, Independent candidate Mohammad Haneefa secured a victory by a margin of 27,862 votes while another Independent candidate Abdul Rashid Sheikh won Jammu and Kashmir’s Baramulla seat by bagging 4.7 lakh votes.

In Bihar, Congress’ Tariq Anwar won the Katihar seat after a close contest with JD(U) candidate Dulal Chandra Goswami. Anwar won by a margin of 49,863 votes.

Congress now has seven Muslim MPs (highest among parties), the Trinamool Congress (TMC) has five, and the SP has four. The Indian Union Muslim League has three MPs — T Mohammad Bashir from Malappuram, M P Abdurasmad Samdani from Ponnani, Kerala and K Navaskani from Tamil Nadu’s Ramanathapuram.

Related: Election 2024 Results: 73 women elected to Lok Sabha, lower than 2019

(Disclaimer: The headline, subheads, and intro of this report along with the photos may have been reworked by South First. The rest of the content is from a syndicated feed, and has been edited for style.)