In Bengaluru Urban’s 28 segments, BJP wins 16 and Congress gets 12 seats

Two constituencies — Jayanagar and Gandhi Nagar — witnessed tight fight and Congress candidates won both by narrow margins.

ByBellie Thomas

Published May 13, 2023 | 9:30 PM Updated May 14, 2023 | 8:20 AM

Congress leaders Randeep Singh Sujrewala and KC Venugopal celebrating party's victory in K'taka elections

The BJP had a slight edge over the Congress in Bengaluru Urban where it won 16 out of the 28 Assembly segments. The Congress bagged the remaining 12 seats.

Two constituencies witnessed a nail-biting finish: The final margins were in three and two digits, according to the Election Commission of India (ECI) website.

In Jayanagar, Congress candidate sitting MLA Soumya Reddy was initially said to have defeated the BJP’s CK Ramamurthy by a slender margin of 160 votes.

However, the BJP candidate and his supporters sought a recount amidst high drama, and the ECI again declared Reddy the winner with a higher margin of 294 votes. But after yet another late night recount, he was eventually declared the winner.

In the last recount, Ramamurthy bagged 57,797 votes while Soumya Reddy got 57,781 votes: A difference of just 16 votes.

The Gandhi Nagar constituency, too, witnessed a tight fight that went down to the wire. Dinesh Gundu Rao of the Congress won the seat by a margin of 105 votes. He bagged 54,118 votes while BJP’s candidate Sapthagiri Gowda AR trailed with 54,013 votes.

In most of the other segments, sitting MLAs formed the majority of winners.

Related: Landslide victory for Congress in Karnataka

Segments that voted for BJP

In Yeshwanthpura, where both Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah conducted mega meetings, BJP candidate ST Somashekhar defeated his nearest rival Javarayi Gowda of the JD(S) by a margin of 15,118 votes.

Somashekar won 1,69,149 votes while Gowda bagged 1,54,031 votes. In 2018, ST Somashekhar had contested from a Congress ticket to win the elections and in the 2019 by-elections, Somashekar switched loyalty to BJP and retained the seat.

The BJP’s SR Vishwanath claimed Yelahanka, polling 1,20,342 votes over his rival Keshava Rajanna of the Congress. Rajanna could manage only 53,114 votes. Vishwanath was the segment’s sitting MLA.

In KR Puram, BA Basavaraja of the BJP bagged 1,39,925 votes to defeat the Congress’s DK Mohan, who got 1,15,624 votes. In Rajarajeshwarinagar, Munirathna of the BJP defeated Congress’s Kusuma Hanumanthappa, wife of the late IAS officer, DK Ravi. While Munirathna bagged 1,27,980 votes, Kusuma managed to get 1,16,138 votes — the margin being 11,842.

In Dasarahalli, BJP candidate S Muniraju won 91,289 votes to pip JD(S)’s R Manjunatha by a margin of 9,194 votes. Manjunatha was the sitting MLA.

Sitting MLA Dr Ashwath Narayan CN of the BJP won Malleswaram, defeating Congress’s Anoop Iyengar by a margin of 41,302 votes. In CV Raman Nagar (SC) incumbent MLA S Raghu of the BJP defeated Anand Kumar S of the Congress by a margin of 16,395 votes.

The BJP repeated its win In the Rajajinagar constituency also when the incumbent MLA S Suresh Kumar defeated Congress’s Puttanna by 8,060 votes. In Chickpet BJP MLA Uday Garudachar retained his seat, defeating RV Devraj of the Congress by 12,113 votes. In 2018, Garudachar defeated Devraj by a margin of 7,934 votes.

In the Basavanagudi constituency, the BJP candidate Ravi Subramanya won by bagging 54,978 votes more than his nearest rival, UB Venkatesh of the Congress. In 2018, BJP’s Ravi Subramanya defeated the JD(S) candidate K Bagegowda by 38,009 votes.

R Ashoka of the BJP retained Padmanabhanagar, defeating V Raghunatha Naidu of the Congress by 55,175 votes. However, Ashoka had also contested from Kanakapura, his second constituency, and came third after DK Shivakumar of the Congress and JD(S)’s B Nagaraju. Ashoka could manage only 19,753 votes in Kanakapura.

In Mahadevapura, Aravind Limbavali’s wife Manjula S, from the BJP defeated H Nagesh of the Congress. In 2018, Limbavali won the seat by defeating Congress’s AC Srinivasa. However, the BJP did not field Limbavali.

M Satish Reddy, the incumbent BJP MLA of Bommanahalli won by a margin of 24,215 votes over Congress’s Umapathy Srinivasa Gowda. Reddy has been an MLA since 2008 and won the 2013.

In Bengaluru South, BJP candidate M Krishnappa defeated RK Ramesh of the Congress by a margin of 49,699 votes. In Mahalakshmi Layout, BJP’s K Gopalaiah won the seat by a margin of 51,165 votes.

Related: Modi, Shah campaigned in 47 segments, BJP won only 15

Segments that voted for Congress

In Byatrayanapura, Krishna Byregowda of the Congress defeated BJP’s candidate Thammesh Gowda HC by 38,204 votes. This is Byregowda’s fourth win.

Congress’s Suresha BS won Hebbal by 30,754 votes. He defeated Jagdeesha Katta KS. In Pulakeshinagar (SC), the incumbent MLA was Congress’s Akanda Srinivasa Murthy.

However, in this election, AC Srinivasa replaced Murthy, and the latter contested on a BSP ticket. and lost by 62,210 votes. BJP’s A Murali got 10,624 votes.

In Sarvagnanagar, Congress candidate KJ George defeated BJP’s Padmanabha Reddy by a margin of 55,768 votes. Geroge was the sitting MLA.

In Shivajinagar, incumbent MLA Rizwan Arshad of the Congress defeated BJP’s Chandra N by a margin of 23,194 votes.

In Shantinagar, incumbent Congress MLA NA Harris won by 7,125 votes. The BJP’s K Shivakumar was his rival. In Govindraj Nagar, Congress Priyakrishna retained the seat by winning 12,516 votes more than BJP’s K Umesh Shetty.

In Vijayanagar, M Krishnappa of the Congress defeated BJP’s H Ravindra by 7,324 votes. Krishnappa was the incumbent MLA.

In Chamrajpet, sitting MLA of the Congress BZ Zameer Ahmed Khan defeated BJP’s Bhaskar Rao by 53,953 votes. Rao, a former IPS officer, had crossed over to the BJP from AAP.

In BTM Layout, Congress leader Ramalinga Reddy defeated BJP’s KR Sridhara by 9,222 votes. In Anekal, Congress candidate B Shivanna defeated BJP’s Srinivas C Hullahalli by 31,325 votes.