‘Why wasn’t most senior MP Kodikunnil Suresh not made Pro-tem speaker?’ Kerala CM Vijayan questions BJP

Vijayan sought BJP's answer to those who suspect Suresh was not considered for the post due to "upper caste politics" followed by the Sangh.


Published Jun 21, 2024 | 9:01 PM Updated Jun 21, 2024 | 9:01 PM

Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan

Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan on Friday, 21 June, criticised the Union government for appointing a pro-tem Speaker of the Lok Sabha in alleged violation of parliamentary conventions and thus not giving the role to the most senior MP in the Lok Sabha Congress’s Kodikunnil Suresh.

Terming the Union government’s decision as objectionable, Vijayan said it needs to clarify why Suresh, who is the most senior MP in the Lok Sabha, was not chosen for the position, as per convention.

The chief minister, in a statement issued by his office, also questioned what is the BJP’s answer to those who suspect that Suresh was not considered for the post due to the “upper caste politics” followed by the Sangh Parivar.

Vijayan’s remarks came a day after seven-term parliamentarian and BJP leader Bhartruhari Mahtab was made the pro-tem Speaker of the Lok Sabha.

Also Read: Kodikunnil Suresh should have been LS pro-tem Speaker: Congress

Terms BJP arrogant

The chief minister accused the BJP of being arrogant for not following parliamentary democratic principles and past conventions of the Lower House.

He also pointed out that in the last Lok Sabha, the post of Deputy Speaker was vacant for the entire five years and the reason behind it was the BJP’s attitude that no one belonging to the opposition can be accepted in that position.

Vijayan said that this haughty approach of the BJP leadership can only be seen as a challenge and insult to Indian democracy.

Earlier in the day, Suresh, an eight-term MP, said that being the most senior Lok Sabha member, he ought to have been made the pro-tem Speaker as per convention.

The pro-tem Speaker will administer the oath/affirmation to the newly elected members of the 18th Lok Sabha and preside over the Lower House till the election of the Speaker.

The first session of the 18th Lok Sabha will begin on 24 June. The newly elected members will take oath on 24-25 June.

The election of the Speaker is scheduled to take place on 26 June.

(Disclaimer: The headline, subheads, and intro of this report along with the photos may have been reworked by South First. The rest of the content is from a syndicated feed, and has been edited for style.)

(South First is now on WhatsApp and Telegram)