Rajeev Chandrasekhar, K Surendran, Suresh Gopi, KC Venugopal file nominations from Kerala

Filing of nominations to 20 Lok Sabha seats in the state concludes on Thursday. The nomination papers will be scrutinised on Friday.


Published Apr 04, 2024 | 3:49 PMUpdatedApr 04, 2024 | 3:49 PM

Rajeev Chandrasekhar, K Surendran, Suresh Gopi. (left to right)

Union Minister Rajeev Chandrasekhar of the BJP and AICC General Secretary KC Venugopal were among those who filed their nominations on Thursday, 4 April, from Kerala, for the 26 April Lok Sabha elections.

Chandrasekhar, who is contesting from the Thiruvananthapuram Lok Sabha seat on a saffron party ticket filed his nomination before the District Collector, who is also the returning officer.

Additionally, BJP state chief K Surendran and actor-turned-politician Suresh Gopi also filed their nominations from Wayanad and Thrissur Lok Sabha seats, respectively.

Besides them, C Krishnakumar, the BJP-led NDA’s candidate from the Palakkad Lok Sabha seat also filed his nomination.

Meanwhile, Congress leader Venugopal filed his nomination before the returning officer in Alappuzha. He was accompanied by senior party leaders.

Also Read: Food for thought: Candidates in Kerala go green for a social cause

The candidates and their rivals

Chandrasekhar was accompanied by Minister of External Affairs S Jaishankar and other senior BJP leaders.

He is fighting against senior Congress leader Shashi Tharoor, also the local MP and CPI veteran Pannian Raveendran.

Earlier, Tharoor had expressed confidence of emerging victorious for the fourth time in a row from Thiruvananthapuram.

“There is no doubt about the first place and the only debate is who will be the second. Though it is considered a three-cornered fight, I think now the fight is more between Congress and BJP,” Tharoor had said

While Gopi was flanked by local party leaders when he went to submit his nomination, Surendran was accompanied by Union Minister for Women and Child Development Smriti Irani.

The BJP state chief, along with Irani, held a roadshow in Wayanad prior to reaching the District Collector’s office to file his nomination.

Surendran will be facing off against sitting Congress MP Rahul Gandhi and CPI leader Annie Raja in the hill constituency.

Gopi, the BJP candidate from Thrissur Lok Sabha seat, walked to the District Collector’s office with party workers and supporters to file his nomination.

The actor is pitted against K Muraleedharan, who is the sitting Congress MP from Vatakara and CPI leader VS Sunil Kumar from the central Kerala Lok Sabha seat of Thrissur.

Filing of nominations to 20 Lok Sabha seats in the state concludes on Thursday. The nomination papers will be scrutinised on Friday.

Polling will be held on 26 April and counting of votes taken up on 4 June, at the end of the seven phase elections in the country.

Also Read: Shashi Tharoor files nomination, confident of retaining his three-time seat

(Disclaimer: The headline, subheads, and intro of this report along with the photos may have been reworked by South First. The rest of the content is from a syndicated feed, and has been edited for style.)