Railways to operate election special trains in Karnataka

These special trains have been introduced to clear the election rush ahead of the 26 April polling in 14 out of the 28 Lok Sabha seats in the state.


Published Apr 25, 2024 | 11:31 AMUpdatedApr 25, 2024 | 11:31 AM

Indian railways

Anticipating a surge in travel demand during the upcoming Lok Sabha elections and aiming to ease the burden of summer travel, railway authorities have unveiled special train services connecting Bengaluru with Mangaluru Central.

A press release issued by the South Western Railway said Train No. 06553 Bengaluru – Mangaluru Central Special is set to depart from Sir M Visvesvaraya Terminal in Bengaluru at 6:00 pm on 25 April (Thursday), reaching Mangaluru Central at 10 am the following day.

Train No. 06554 Mangaluru Central – Bengaluru Special will depart from Mangaluru Central at 12 pm on 26 April (Friday), arriving at Sir M Visvesvaraya Terminal in Bengaluru at 3 am the next day.

Additionally, South Western Railway authorities have announced the Yesvantpur – Kundapur special express to connect Bengaluru with Udupi. Train No. 06547 will leave Yesvantpur in Bengaluru on 25 April at 11:20 pm, arriving at Kundapur the following day at 10:45 am.

The return journey from Kundapur to Yesvantpur, Train No. 06548, is scheduled to depart from Kundapur at 11:20 am on 26 April, reaching Yesvantpur at 9:50 pm on the same day.

These special trains have been introduced with voting slated for 14 out of the 28 Lok Sabha seats on 26 April. The aim is to facilitate seamless travel for voters from the coastal region, the Railways said.

Also Read: Siddaramaiah stages dharna over delay in release of drought relief funds by the Union govt

(Disclaimer: The headline, subheads, and intro of this report along with the photos may have been reworked by South First. The rest of the content is from a syndicated feed, and has been edited for style.)