Lok Sabha polls: JD(S) to field former CM HD Kumaraswamy in Mandya; announces candidates for Hassan, Kolar seats

Incumbent MP Prajwal Revanna is the party's candidate from Hassan and M Mallesh Babu iis fielded in the Kolar constituency.

ByMahesh M Goudar

Published Mar 29, 2024 | 1:17 PMUpdatedMar 29, 2024 | 1:17 PM


Putting an end to the speculations regarding its candidates for the Lok Sabha polls, the JD(S) on Friday, 29 March, announced its candidates for three constituencies in Karnataka.

As expected and reported by South First earlier, JD(S) state president and former chief minister HD Kumaraswamy will be the regional party’s candidate from Mandya. He is currently representing Channapatna in the state Assembly.

Kumaraswamy — who underwent heart surgery recently — is returning to national politics after a gap of 10 years. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections he had contested unsuccessfully from Chikkballapur.

Incumbent MP Prajwal Revanna — grandson of JD(S) national president HD Deve Gowda and nephew of Kumaraswamy — is the party’s candidate from Hassan for the second consecutive time.

He made his electoral debut in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls from the same seat and has been representing the constituency in the Lower House of the Parliament.

M Mallesh Babu is the party’s candidate from the Kolar constituency. He had contested from the Bangarapet (SC) Assembly constituency in the 2023 elections and lost to Congress candidate SN Narayanaswamy.

Also Read: JD(S) leaders complain of ally BJP ignoring them in Lok Sabha poll preparations

‘Considered various factors’

Meanwhile, a JD(S) MLA said that the party announced the candidates after considering various factors including caste equations.

On condition of anonymity, the MLA told South First: “The party has announced candidates in all the three seats, considering various factors including caste equations and cadre strength. The party leadership has opted candidates after collecting opinions and taking local leaders into confidence.”

“We are confident of winning in all three seats as the party has a strong representation in all these constituencies. Additionally, we are in alliance with the BJP, which also has a strong base. The party will start large-scale campaigning at the earliest,” added the MLA.

In the 2019 elections, Kumaraswamy’s son Nikhil had unsuccessfully contested from the Mandya seat. BJP-backed independent candidate Sumalatha Ambareesh had won the nail-biter in 2019.


Also Read: Kolar seat turns battleground for Congress as MLAs threaten to resign

‘BJP played a key role’

The MLA also added that its alliance partner BJP played a key role in making Kumaraswamy agree to contest from the constiruency.

The JD(S) MLA told South First: “The party workers had pressured JD(S) leadership to either field Kumaraswamy or his son Nikhil from the Mandya seat. On the other hand, party workers from Channapatana met the former CM requesting him not to leave Ramanagara.”

“The BJP high command has also played a key role in convincing Kumaraswamy to contest. Though the party might have reduced from seven to one seat in the Assembly polls, we had swept the 2018 polls. Consider the party’s strength and vote bank, we will win this seat,” added the legislator.

“In Hassan, Deve Gowda had decided to field the sitting MP Prajwal Revanna. In Kolar, three candidates were shortlisted including sitting MLA Smaruddi Manjunath but after detailed deliberations, the party decided to field Mallesh Babu,” elaborated the MLA.

BJP has declared candidates for all 25 parliament constituencies it will be contesting. However, the Congress has declared candidates for only 24 seats and is yet to name its nominees for four seats, including the two seats where dissent exists.

The polling in Karnataka will be conducted in two phases. The first phase is for South Karnataka constituencies on 26 April, and the second phase is for North Karnataka on 7 May.

(Edited by Muhammed Fazil)