Lok Sabha elections: Kumaraswamy says BJP allocated 3 seats to JD(S) in Karnataka

The JD(S) announced its coalition with NDA on 22 September last year. Since then, both parties have held multiple meetings over seat-sharing.

ByMahesh M Goudar

Published Mar 13, 2024 | 8:29 PMUpdatedMar 13, 2024 | 9:32 PM

Karnataka BJP NDA alliance Seat sharing Mandya Kolar Hassan HD Kumaraswamy

All eyes are on the BJP headquarters in anticipation of the second list of candidates for the Lok Sabha polls and the announcement regarding seat-sharing with the JD(S) in Karnataka.

Against this backdrop, JD(S) chief and former Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy revealed on Wednesday, 13 March, that the BJP has agreed to give his party three seats in the 2024 Lok Sabha polls.

Kumaraswamy announced that the saffron party had agreed to give it Mandya, Hassan, and Kolar.

The JD(S) announced its coalition with NDA on 22 September last year. Since then, both parties have held multiple meetings over seat-sharing and political equations in the state for the Lok Sabha elections.

In another development, the BJP high command has also given a green signal for the candidacy of noted cardiologist Dr CN Manjunath, who is also a son-in-law of JD(S) supremo and former prime minister HD Deve Gowda, from the Bengaluru Rural seat on the party’s ticket.

It may be noted that the JD(S) leadership had demanded five seats including Bengaluru Rural on the BJP ticket for the parliament elections.

With these developments, the future of Mandya’s incumbent MP Sumalatha Ambareesh, who had announced oral support to the BJP, and Kolar’s incumbent MP S Muniswamy in politics appears to be jeopardised at the moment.

Also Read: Deve Gowda’s son-in-law Dr CN Manjunath joins BJP

‘I have built this party alone’

Kumaraswamy took to X (formerly Twitter) on Wednesday to confirm that the BJP agreed to give them three out of 28 seats for the upcoming parliament elections.

According to the sources: “The JD(S) high command had demanded five seats — including one seat on the BJP’s ticket. The saffron party agreed to three seats for the JD(S) and one on the BJP ticket.”

While campaigning for the JD(S)’s incumbent MP Prajwal Revanna in Hassan, Kumaraswamy said: “This election is a challenge to the party. It has been decided at the centre to give us this seat (Hassan), Mandya and Kolar. If I had asked, they would have given us two more seats. But I don’t have the strength to contest polls.”

He continued: “I have built this party alone under the guidance of former prime minister Deve Gowda for about 17 years — from 2008. Everyone has seen my efforts. There is no one with me except lakhs of party workers.”

He added: “If the party has survived for 17 years — ours is a very small regional party — it is because of the party workers, and not me. I won’t die soon; I will be with you people because God has blessed me good life. Hence, I appeal to everyone to save this party.”

Also Read: INDIA bloc a bundle of groups making secularism a joke, says Deve Gowda

Likely JD(S) faces

In February, Kumaraswamy appointed some of the party leaders as in-charges of Lok Sabha segments, with senior leaders entrusted with the responsibility of shortlisting the candidates.

JD(S) leader and former minister SR Mahesh was appointed the head of the Mandya seat, MLA GK Venkatreddy of the Kolar seat, and former minister and MLA HD Revanna for the Hassan seat.

The party similarly appointed heads for all the Lok Sabha 28 seats in Karnataka.

On condition of anonymity, a JD(S) MLA told South First: “These appointed heads of the respective constituencies were entrusted to identify the efficient candidates and hold meeting with the local leaders.”

He added: “Kumaraswamy or former minister CS Puttaraju will be the party’s face in Mandya. Incumbent MP Prajwal Revanna will be the party’s face in Hassan.”

He also said: “Nisarga Narayanswamy and Mallesh Babu, who contested unsuccessfully from the Devanahalli and Bangarpet Assembly seats, respectively, are frontrunners in Kolar.”

(Edited by Arkadev Ghoshal)