Karnataka: 71.84 percent turnout in second phase in 14 LS seats

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the same 14 segments in the first phase had recorded a turnout of 68.43 percent.


Published May 09, 2024 | 9:44 AMUpdatedMay 09, 2024 | 9:44 AM

LS Polls 2024: Voter turnout

Karnataka recorded 71.84 percent voter turnout in the 14 constituencies in the second phase of Lok Sabha polls held in the state, Election Commission officials said on Wednesday, 8 May.

The overall election process went off peacefully in the state as the Congress and BJP locked horns again on May on the electoral battleground in less than a fortnight, they said.

According to poll officials, of the 14 constituencies that went to polls on 7 May, the highest turnout of 78.66 percent was recorded in Chikkodi, followed by 78.33 percent in Shimoga, and least 62.25 percent in Gulbarga.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the same 14 segments in the first phase had recorded a turnout of 68.43 percent.

The total voter turnout in Karnataka in the two phases in this Lok Sabha polls is 70.64 percent.

The state has a total of 28 Lok Sabha constituencies. The first phase of polling in the other 14 seats in most of the southern and coastal districts was held on 26 April.

The constituencies which went to polls in the first phase, including those in the state capital Bengaluru, witnessed a turnout of 69.56 percent.

Also Read: HD Revanna remanded to judicial custody till 14 May; K’taka appoints additional prosecutors 

Candidates in fray

A total of 227 candidates— 206 men and 21 women— were in the fray for the second phase covering northern districts, where more than 2.59 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in 28,269 polling stations.

Tuesday’s elections witnessed a straight fight between the ruling Congress and the BJP in these segments. The JD(S) did not contest these seats and is supporting its NDA alliance partner— the BJP.

The segments in northern districts where elections were held are: Chikkodi, Belgaum, Bagalkot, Bijapur, Gulbarga, Raichur, Bidar, Koppal, Bellary, Haveri, Dharwad, Uttara Kannada, Davangere and Shimoga.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, BJP had swept all these 14 seats, defeating Congress and JD(S), which were in alliance and ruling the state back then.

Having scored a thumping victory in the Assembly elections last year, the Congress appeared determined to put up a strong show in the Lok Sabha polls, while Karnataka is the most important state for the BJP in south India as it’s only here that it had held power in the past.

Also Read: B’luru police summon BJP chief JP Nadda, IT cell head Amit Malviya over ‘communal’ post on X

(Disclaimer: The headline, subheads, and intro of this report along with the photos may have been reworked by South First. The rest of the content is from a syndicated feed, and has been edited for style.)