How BJP-led NDA fared in the home constituencies of chief ministers in Southern states

The BJP-led NDA showcased a strong performance in the southern states of Karnataka, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, while also securing a seat in Kerala, which has so far kept the saffron party out of its borders.

BySouth First Desk

Published Jun 04, 2024 | 9:19 PMUpdatedJun 04, 2024 | 9:21 PM

From left: Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister MK Stalin, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, Telangana Chief Minster A Revanth Reddy, and Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan.

The BJP-led NDA showcased a noticeable performance in the southern states of Karnataka, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, while also securing a seat in Kerala, which has so far kept the saffron party out of its borders. Tamil Nadu is the only state where the BJP failed to open an account.

In a heavy blow to the Congress in Karnataka and Chief Minister Siddaramaiah in particular, the scion of erstwhile Mysore royal family Yaduveer Krishnadatta Chamaraja Wadiyar, a BJP-Janata Dal Secular (JDS) coalition candidate, has won Mysuru-Kodagu Lok Sabha seat.

Mysuru being Siddaramaiah’s home turf, was more a battle of prestige between Siddaramaiah and Prime Minister Narendra Modi, than a contest between Wadiyar and Congress’ M Lakshman. It was also third straight defeat of the Congress nominees in Mysuru-Kodagu seat.

Given the crucial battle, Siddaramaiah himself led the charge, visiting his native seat and camping in assembly segments for more than a week as part of the preparations.

A blow to Karnataka Congress

Wadiyar defeated Lakshman by a margin of about 1.39 lakh votes. While Wadiyar secured 7,95,503 votes and Lakshman secured 6,56,240 votes.

In yet another blow to the party, BJP emerged victorious in Bangalore Rural seat, the home constituency of Deputy Chief Minister DK Shivakumar.

His brother Congress’ DK Suresh, Bangalore Rural MP who won this Vokkaliga stronghold in 2019, conceded defeat to Dr CN Manjunath, who won with 2,69,647 votes. Bangalore Rural has been a Congress stronghold since the 2013 by-elections.

Manjunath, a noted cardiologist, is the son-in-law of former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda. Prime Minister Modi and Gowda had campaigned jointly for the NDA candidates.

Situation in Telangana, Andhra Pradesh

For the Congress in Telangana as well, the situation is was bleak in CM’s constituency. In a close fight, BJP’s national vice president DK Aruna won the Mahbubnagar Lok Sabha seat, which is Chief Minister Revanth Reddy’s home district. She defeated Congress’ Challa Vamshi Chand Reddy by a thin margin of 4,500 votes.

Reddy secured 5,06,247 votes. This is also the first victory of a non-BRS party after the general elections in 2009.

Ramasahayam Raghuram Reddy of the Congress won in Khammam with 766929 votes against BRS party’s Nama Nageshwara Rao, who secured 299082 votes. Khammam is Deputy Chief Minister Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka’s hometown.

Any candidate from the Congress who is contesting would definitely win the confidence of people belonging to Khammam. In Nagarkurnool, Congress’ Dr Mallu Ravi, the elder sibling of Deputy CM Bhatti also secured 465072 votes against BJP’s Bharath Prasad Pothuganti who got 3,70,658 votes.

Meanwhile in Andhra Pradesh, in a dramatic turn of events, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), led by N Chandrababu Naidu, secured a remarkable victory against YSRCP.

Despite several welfare measures, Jagan’s party was decimated in the assembly elections.

In a media briefing Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy, who won from the Pulivendula assembly segment by a majority of over 61,000 votes, said the party will rise from here to be with the people to do good.

A disgrace for LDF in Kerala, win for BJP

The CPI(M) in Kerala has never fared worse than now. The LDF won just one seat, Alathur, in the general elections, sharing the same tally as BJP in the state, where it is the incumbent.

Actor-politician Suresh Gopi clinched Thrissur for the NDA, enabling the BJP to establish a foothold in Kerala. With its surprising win in the state, BJP has made history in Kerala.

In Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan’s home constituency Kannur, Congress’s K Sudhakaran has emerged victorious in the Lok Sabha general elections. Sudhakaran maintained a consistent lead throughout the electoral process, securing a lead even in Vijayan’s constituency.

Congress-UDF registered a clear victory by clinching 18 out of 20 Lok Sabha seats in Kerala. Congress leader Rahul Gandhi won by a lead of over 3.5 lakh votes over his nearest rival Annie Raja of the Communist Party of India in the Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency.

Clean sweep for INDIA bloc in Tamil Nadu 

The ruling Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) alliance has secured all 39 seats in Tamil Nadu, with Congress winning Puducherry as well.

DMK candidate Dr Kalanidhi Veeraswamy won from Chennai North Lok Sabha constituency, Chief Minister MK Stalin’s home turf.

The key Opposition party AIADMK, lagged behind in all seats, this being the third consecutive defeat for the party in elections after the passing of Jayalalithaa.

Despite several visits by Prime Minister Modi, having star candidates like Union Minister L Murugan, state BJP Chief Annamalai, Governor turned politician Dr Tamilisai Soundararajan, and Raadika Sarathkumar, BJP, which fought alone in the state, failed to open an account.

(Edited by Shauqueen Mizaj)