Former Tumakuru MP Muddahanumegowda rejoins Congress ahead of Lok Sabha polls

DK Shivakumar said that the pro-people approach of the Congress was attracting more people into the party.

BySouth First Desk

Published Feb 22, 2024 | 8:27 PMUpdatedFeb 22, 2024 | 8:27 PM


Ahead of the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, former Member of Parliament from Tumakuru SP Muddahanumegowda resigned from the BJP and returned to the Congress fold on Thursday, 22 February.

He was welcomed back to the grand old party by Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and Deputy Chief Minister DK Shivakumar at the party’s state office.

He is likely to be the face of the Congress in the Tumkur Lok Sabha constituency for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. With his candidature, Congress is confident of winning Tumakuru seat.

Also Read: Karnataka minister’s demand on number of Kannadigas employees draws ire

CM, DyCM welcome Muddahanumegowda

Welcoming Muddahanumegowda back to the party, Shivakumar — also the party’s state president — said that the pro-people approach of the Congress was attracting more people into the party.

“Believing in the principles and doctrines of the Congress, former MP Muddahanumegowda joined the party today at Bharat Jodo Bhavan in Bengaluru. I warmly welcome him and wish him well,” he wrote in a post on X.

“Participated in Muddahanumegowda’s Congress Party joining program organised at the District Congress Office and wished him well,” wrote Siddaramaiah on X.

Also Read: Misinformation, communal narratives mar amendments to Religious Endowments Bill

Political career

Born in Tumakuru in Karnataka, Muddahanumegowda represented the Kunigal constituency in Karnataka Assembly from Congress twice.

In 2014, he was elected to the Lok Sabha from Tumakuru constituency. Ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, the Tumakuru seat was allotted to JD(S) leader HD Deve Gowda as part of an alliance agreement.

However, Muddahanumegowda filed two nominations for himself from the seat — one as an independent and another under the Congress banner. Subsequent discussions with party leaders resulted in him withdrawing the nominations.

Deve Gowda was defeated by BJP candidate GS Basaavaraj.

In November 2022, Muddahanumegowda resigned from the Congress and joined the BJP.