BJP fields CT Ravi as candidate for Karnataka MLC polls, N Ravikumar, MG Mule too make the cut

After being dropped as BJP National General Secretary, CT Ravi had unsuccessfully contested from Chikkamagaluru assembly seat.

ByMahesh M Goudar

Published Jun 02, 2024 | 3:24 PM Updated Jun 02, 2024 | 3:24 PM

File photo of BJP leader CT Ravi.

BJP on Sunday, 2 June, announced its nominees for the biennial Karnataka Legislative Council election with former state minister CT Ravi also featuring in the list.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) had announced that the elections to 11 MLC seats — necessitated since the term of as many lawmakers will end on 17 June — would be held on 13 June.

All members of the Legislative Assembly will vote to elect these 11 members to the Legislative Council. Considering the strength of different parties in the house, Congress is contesting seven seats, BJP in three seats and JD(S) in one seat.

With Monday being the last day to file the nominations, the BJP announced candidates for three seats, two senior leaders and a party leader from the Maratha community.

Congress is likely to announce its candidates for the eight MLC seats on Sunday evening. Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and Deputy Chief Minister DK Shivakumar had recently met the party high command and submitted the names of the shortlisted candidates.

Also Read: Congress will win 10 seats in Telangana, says Revanth; ‘No faith in exit polls’, Shivakumar

The candidates

BJP has named incumbent MLC N Ravikumar, former minister Ravi and former Karnataka Communities Development Corporation Ltd chairman MG Mule for the elections.

It is to be noted that Ravi had lost the 2023 Karnataka Assembly polls from the Chikkamagaluru constituency.

Last week, Karnataka BJP chief BY Vijayendra sent the names of shortlisted candidates to the high command after a core committee meeting of the party’s state unit.

On condition of anonymity, a former state minister told South First that various factors were considered before opting for these three candidates.

“The party honoured the ticket to Ravikumar and CT Ravi considering their contribution to the party,” the senior leader said.

“The party was also looking for leaders capable of strengthening the organisation across the state. They (Ravikumar and CT Ravi) work around the clock for the party. Hence, the party chose to honour them,” the senior leader added.

On fielding MG Mule, he said: “Maratha community is dominant in the Bidar district. In the 2023 Assembly polls, the party gave tickets only to Lingayats.”

“The high command had promised that the community would be considered for the MLC elections. We also need to give prominence to all the communities, honouring social justice. Hence, Mule has been fielded under the Maratha community quota,” he added.

Also Read: Karnataka court grants bail to Siddaramaiah, Shivakumar in defamation case

Congress candidates

The Congress high command is likely to announce candidates on Sunday evening, claimed sources.

Shivakumar had claimed that there were nearly 300 aspirants for the seven MLC seats.

On condition of anonymity, a senior MLC told South First: “The CM and Deputy CM have submitted a list of around 15 to 20 shortlisted names for the MLC elections. The party is most likely to announce names for eight seats including one seat that fell vacate due to the resignation of former CM Jagadish Shettar.”

“The party might retain Minister NS Boseraju and CM’s political secretary K Govindraju. Former MLA Yathindra Siddaramaiah, KPCC Secretary BR Naidu and a few other names are making rounds. The high command is likely to announce nominees on Sunday evening,” added the senior MLC.

(Edited by Muhammed Fazil)