SIIMA Awards 2023: Kamal Haasan bags Best Actor Award in Tamil, Tovino Thomas in Malayalam

Trisha Krishnan and Kalyani Priyadarshan won the Best Actor (Female) award for their performances in 'PS-1' and 'Bro Daddy', respectively

ByArjun Ramachandran

Published Sep 17, 2023 | 4:38 PMUpdatedSep 17, 2023 | 4:38 PM

SIIMA awards Malayalam Tamil

The South Indian International Movie Awards (SIIMA) 2023 saw a star-studded event as it celebrated the excellence in Tamil and Malayalam cinema on its second day.

Veterans Kamal Haasan and  Mani Ratnam’s presence added to the star-studded award ceremony.

Mani Ratnam was awarded the Extraordinary Achievement Award for his contributions to the Tamil film industry. His magnum opus, Ponniyin Selvan-1 received awards in different categories

On its first day, awards for Telugu and Kannada cinema were given.

On the second day, the main SIIMA awards were presented. The 11th edition of SIIMA was held in Dubai on 15 and 16 September at the World Trade Centre. The winners were decided by
public polling. A jury selected the nominees.

Winners in various categories were presented with the awards on day two. In Tamil Cinema, Kamal Haasan clinched the Popular Choice Best Actor Award for his remarkable role in Vikram.

Trisha Krishnan was awarded the Popular Choice Best Actress Award for her performance in Ponniyin Selvan-1. R Madhavan bagged the award for Best Debutant Director for his movie, Rocketry- The Nambi Effect. He also received the Best Actor Awards – Critics for the same film.

Ponniyin Selvan-1 won the award for Best Tamil Film while Lokesh Kanagaraj won the award for Best Director for his blockbuster, Vikram. Music sensation Anirudh Ravichander and lyricist
Ilango Krishnan were awarded for their works in Vikram and Ponniyin Selvan-1, respectively.

Related: Jr NTR bags Best Actor Award, fans elated

Critics award for Darshana

Debutants Pradeep Ranganathan and Aditi Shankar were recognised for their works in Love Today and Viruman, respectively.

Several young talents in the Malayalam film industry were recognized for their outstanding contributions. Kalyani Priyadarshan was given the Best Actress Award for her performance in Bro Daddy. Tovino Thomas was adjudged the winner of Best Actor for his performance in the film, Thallumala.

Basil Joseph accepted the award on behalf of Tovino. Kunchako Boban was awarded the Best Actor in a Lead Role- Critics (Malayalam) award.

Darshana Rajendran’s performance in Jaya Jaya Jaya Jaya Hey won her the Best Actress in a Leading Role – Critics (Malayalam) award. Vineeth Sreenivasan won the Best Director Award for
Hridayam, while Nna Thaan Case Kodu received the Best Film Award.

Basil Joseph was given a Special Jury Appreciation Award for Jaya Jaya Jaya Jaya Hey.

On the first day, Telugu and Kannada awards were announced. In Kannada, the Best Actor in a Leading Role (Critics) was grabbed by Rishab Shetty. The Best Film award was given to 777 Charlie.

Meanwhile, in Telugu, Jr NTR won the Best Actor in a Leading Role for his performance in RRR. Sreeleela bagged the Best Actress Award for Dhamaka.

Roll of honour


  • Best Actor: Kamal Haasan (Vikram)
  • Best Actress – Critics: Keerthy Suresh (Saani Kaayidham)
  • Best Actor – Critics: R Madhavan (Rocketry: The Nambi Effect)
  • Best Actress): Trisha Krishnan (Ponniyin Selvan – 1)
  • Best Music Director: Anirudh Ravichander (Vikram)
  • Best Lyric Writer: Ilango Krishnan (Ponniyin Selvan – 1)
  • Best Cinematographer: Ravi Varman (Ponniyin Selvan – 1)
  • Best Debutant Actor: Pradeep Ranganathan (Love Today)
  • Best Debutant Actress: Aditi Shankar (Viruman Aditi Shankar)
  • Best Debutant Director: R Madhavan (Rocketry – The Nambi Effect)
  • Best Supporting Actress: Vasanthi (Vikram)
  • Best Debutant Producer: Gautham Ramachandran (Gargi)
  • Best Supporting Actor: Kaali Venkat (Gargi)
  • Best Actor in a Negative Role: SJ Suryah (Don)
  • Best Actor in a Comedy Role: Yogi Babu (Love Today)
  • Extraordinary Achievement Award: Mani Ratnam
  • Best Playback Singer – Male: Kamal Haasan (Vikram)
  • Best Production Designer: Thota Tharani  (Ponniyin Selvan – 1)
  • Best Director: Lokesh Kanagaraj  (Vikram)
  • Best Film: Ponniyin Selvan – 1


  • Best Director – Vineeth Sreenivasan (Hridayam)
  • Best Film: Nna Thaan Case Kodu
  • Best Actor (Female): Kalyani Priyadarshan (Bro Daddy)
  • Best Actor (Male): Tovino Thomas (Thallumaala)
  • Best Actor (Critics) (Female): Darshana Rajendran (Jaya Jaya Jaya Jaya Hey)
  • Best Debutant Actor: Ranjith Sajeev (Mike)
  • Best Actor (Critics) (Male): Kunchacko Boban (Nna Thaan Case Kodu)
  • Best Cinematographer: Sharan Velayudhan (Saudi Vellakka)
  • Best Playback Singer (Female): Mridula Warrier (Mayilpeeli)
  • Best Playback Singer (Male): Job Kurian (Pakalo Kaanaathe)
  • Best Lyric Writer: Vinayak Sasikumar (Parudeesa)
  • Best Music Director: Hesham Abdul Wahab (Hridayam)
  • Special Jury Appreciation Award: Basil Joseph (Jaya Jaya Jaya Jaya Hey)
  • Best Supporting actor (Female): Bindu Panicker (Rorschach)
  • Best Debut Actor (Female): Gayathrie Shankar (Nna Thaan Case Kodu)
  • Best Supporting Actor (Male): Lal (Mahaveeryar)
  • Best Debut Director: Abhinav Sunder Nayak (Mukundan Unni Associates)
  • Best Actor in Negative Role: Vineeth Sreenivasan (Mukundan Unni Associates)
  • Best Actor in Comedy Role: Rajesh Madhavan (Nna Thaan Case Kodu)


  • Best Actor in a Leading Role (Critics): Rishab Shetty
  • Best Film: 777 Charlie
  • Sensation of the Year: Karthikeya 2
  • Best Actor in a Negative Role: Achyuth Kumar (Kantara)
  • Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Diganth Manchale (Gaalipata 2)
  • Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Shubha Raksha (Home Minister)
  • Best Debutant Producer: Apeksha Purohit and Pavan Kumar Wadeyar (Dollu)
  • Best Debutant Actor: Pruthvi Shamanur