69th National Film Awards: Allu Arjun, Alia Bhatt, Kriti Sanon, and ‘Rocketry: The Nambi Effect’ bag the honours

While Telugu movies dominated the list of winners, SS Rajamouli's 'RRR' alone bagged six awards including Best Popular Film.

BySouth First Desk

Published Aug 24, 2023 | 7:23 PM Updated Aug 25, 2023 | 2:19 PM

Winners of 69th National Film Awards 2023

The Directorate of Film Festivals announced the 69th National Film Awards on Thursday, 24 August.

Telugu actor Allu Arjun won the National Award for Best Actor for his performance in Pushpa: The Rise (2021).

Bollywood actors Alia Bhatt and Kriti Sanon shared the Best Actress award for Gangubai Kathiawadi (2022) and Mimi (2021), respectively.

The Best Film Award went to R Madhavan’s Rocketry: The Nambi Effect (2022).

Pallavi Joshi and Pankaj Tripathi bagged the Best Supporting Actor — Female and Male respectively for their roles in The Kashmir Files (2022) and Mimi (2021).

While Telugu cinema dominated the list of winners this year, SS Rajamouli’s Telugu blockbuster hit film RRR (2022) alone took home as many as six National Awards.

RRR won awards in Best Popular Film, Best Background Score (MM Keeravani), Best Singer Male (Kaala Bhairava for the song “Komuram Bheemodo“), Best Choreography (Prem Rakshith), Best Action Choreography (King Solomon), and Best Special Effects (Srinivas Mohan) categories.

Best feature film in each language

Gangubai Kathiawadi and Sardar Udham (2021) shared the Best Hindi Film award at the 69th National Film Awards 2023.

Kadaisi Vivasayi (2022), 777 Charlie (2022), Home (2021) and Uppena (2021) won the awards for the best films in Tamil, Kannada, Malayalam and Telugu languages, respectively.

Indrans, who played a pivotal role in the Malayalam film Home, received a Special Mention.

In all, 80 films from nearly 28 languages were submitted for the 69th National Film Awards 2023.

A total of 31 movies were considered in the final round of the Feature Films category and 23 films in the Non-Feature Films category.

Feature Films

  • Best Feature film: Rocketry: The Nambi Effect (2022, Hindi); Producer Rocketry Entertainment LLP, Director R Madhavan
  • Best Actor: Allu Arjun for Pushpa: The Rise (2021, Telugu)
  • Best Actress: Alia Bhatt for Gangubhai Kathiawadi (2022, Hindi)
  • Best Supporting Actors: Pallavi Joshi (The Kashmir Files (2022, Hindi)) and Pankaj Tripathi (Mimi(2021, Hindi))
  • Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director: Meppadiyan (2022, Malayalam), Producer: Unni Mukundan Films Private Ltd, Director: Vishnu Mohan
  • Nargis Dutt Award for Best Film on National Integration: The Kashmir Files
  • Best Action Direction: RRR (2022, Telugu)
  • Choreography and Special Effects: RRR
  • Best Popular Film: RRR
  • Best Child Artist: Bhavin Rabari for Last Film Show (Chhello Show) (Gujarati)
  • Best Male Playback Singer: Kaala Bhairava for RRR (Telugu) for the song “Komuram Bheemudo
  • Best Female Playback Singer: Shreya Ghoshal for Iravin Nizhal (2021, Tamil) for the song “Mayava Chayava
  • Best Cinematography: Sardhar Udham, Cameraman: Avik Mukhopadhyay
  • Best Screenplay Original: Shahi Kabir for Nayattu (2021, Malayalam)
  • Best Screenplay Adapted: Sanjay Leela Bhansali & Utkarshini Vashishtha for Gangubai Kathiawadi (Hindi).
  • Best Kids FilmGandhi & Co (2022)
  • Best Film on the Environment: Aavasavyuham (2022, Malayalam)
  • Best Film on Social Issues: Anunaad

Best Feature Film in languages specified in Schedule VIII

  • Best Kannada Film: 777 Charlie (2022), Producer: Parmvah Studios Pvt.Ltd, Director, Kiran Raj K
  • Best Telugu Film: Uppena (2021), Producer: Mythri Movie Makers, Director: Sana Buchibabu
  • Best Tamil Film: Kadaisi Vivasayi (2022)
  • Best Malayalam Film: Home (2021)
  • Best Mishing Film: Boomba Ride (2021)
  • Best Assamese Film: Anur- Eyes On The Sunshine (2023)
  • Best Bengali Film: Kalkokkho (2021)
  • Best Hindi Film: Sardar Udham (2021)
  • Best Gujarati Film: Last Film Show (2021)
  • Best Kannada Film: 777 Charlie (2022)
  • Best Maithili Film: Samanantar (2021)
  • Best Marathi Film: Ekda Kaay Zala (2022)
  • Special Mention: Kadaisi Vivasayi (The Last Farmer), Jhilli (Discards)(2021, Bengali), HomeAnur: Eyes on the Sunshine

Non-feature films 

  • Special Mention: Baale Bangara (2021, Kannada), Karuvarai (2021, Tamil), The Healing Touch, Ek Duaa
  • Best Non-Feature Film: Ek Tha Gaon (2021); Producer & Director: Srishti Lakhera
  • Best Debut Non-feature Film of a Director: Paanchika (2020)
  • Best Anthropological Film: Fire on Edge
  • Best Biographical Film: Rukhu Matir Dukhu Majhi (2022), Beyond Blast
  • Best Arts Film: TN Krishnan Bow Strings to Divine
  • Best Science Technology Film: Ethos of Darkness
  • Best Promotional Film: Endangered Heritage ‘Warli Art’
  • Best Environmental Film Including Agriculture: Munnam Valavu
  • Best Film on Social Issues: Mithu DiThree Two One
  • Best Educational Film: Sirpigalin Sirpangal
  • Best Exploration, Adventure Film: Ayushmann
  • Best Investigative Film: Looking for Challan
  • Best Animation Movie: Kandittundu (2021)
  • Special Jury Award: Rekha
  • Best Short Fiction Film: Dal Bhat (2021)
  • Best Film on Family Values: Chand Saanse (2022)
  • Best Direction: Bakul Matiyani for Smile Please (2022)
  • Best Cinematography: Bittu Rawat for Pataal- Tee (2022)
  • Best Audiography: Unni Krishnan for Ek Tha Gaon
  • Best Production Sound Recordist: Suruchi Sharma for Meen Raag (2020)
  • Best Editing: Abhro Banerjee for If Memory Saves Me Right (2021)
  • Best Music Direction: Ishaan Divecha
  • Best Narration/Voice-Over: Kulada Kumar Bhattacharjee (Voice-Over) for Hathibondhu (2022)