TDP changes candidates for 5 Assembly constituencies as Chandrababu distributes nomination forms

The Andhra Pradesh Assembly elections are scheduled for 13 May. That is also when the voters will choose the state's Lok Sabha candidates.

BySouth First Desk

Published Apr 21, 2024 | 6:30 PMUpdatedApr 21, 2024 | 6:35 PM

TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu with party members who were given B-forms on Sunday, 21 April, 2024.

It emerged on Sunday, 21 April, that TDP had changed candidates for five of the 144 Assembly constituencies in Andhra Pradesh.

Narasapuram’s sitting MP Kanumuru Raghu Rama Krishna Raju has been chosen for the Undi Assembly constituency, Giddi Eswari for Paderu, Bandaru Satyanarayana Murthy for Madugula, MS Raju for Madakasira (SC), and Kurugondla Ramakrishna for Venkatagiri.

Party chief Chandrababu Naidu on Sunday also distributed nomination forms to 161 Lok Sabha and Assembly election candidates.

The party chief advised the candidates to work diligently towards the reconstruction of Andhra Pradesh and also offered guidance on election strategy.

The Andhra Pradesh Assembly elections are scheduled for 13 May. That is also when the electorate will vote to choose candidates for the Lok Sabha from the state.

Also Read: Chiranjeevi extends support to NDA in Andhra Pradesh

B-forms distributed

Chandrababu Naidu on Sunday handed over nomination forms — the “B-forms” — to 161 candidates at a small ceremony held at his Andhra Pradesh residence in Undavalli,

A B-form is a nomination document signed by the authorised person of a political party indicating the name of the candidate fielded by the outfit.

It acts as proof that a political party has put up a particular candidate, and ensures that the candidate is allotted the symbol reserved for that party.

TDP, BJP, and Jana Sena are NDA constituents in Andhra Pradesh.

As part of a seat-sharing deal among the NDA partners, TDP has been allocated 144 Assembly and 17 Lok Sabha seats, while BJP will contest from six Lok Sabha and 10 Assembly seats, and Jana Sena will field candidates from two Lok Sabha and 21 Assembly seats.

(Edited by Arkadev Ghoshal/With PTI inputs)