Ramachandraiah, Hari Prasad elected unopposed to Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council under MLA quota

Interestingly, both the TDP and Jana Sena candidates belong to the Kapu community, a forward caste in Andhra Pradesh.

BySouth First Desk

Published Jul 06, 2024 | 1:13 PM Updated Jul 06, 2024 | 1:13 PM

Andhra MLC election

C Ramachandraiah of the ruling TDP and P Hari Prasad of the Janasena party were elected unopposed as members of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council under the MLA quota on Friday, 5 July.

Returning officer M Vijaya Raju at the Legislative Bhavan announced the election of Ramachandraiah and Hari Prasad.

“Friday was the last day to withdraw nominations for the two MLC vacancies under MLA quota in the Legislative Council and only two persons, Ramachandraiah and Prasad, filed their nominations, leading to their unopposed election,” said Raju in an official press release.

With the TDP-JSP-BJP alliance having an unassailable majority in the Legislative Assembly — 164 of the 175 seats — the outcome of the election has been a formality.

Also Read: Jana Sena likely to debut in Andhra Pradesh council with Hariprasad, TDP rewards Ramachandraiah

Choice of candidates

JSP chief Pawan Kalyan fielded his political secretary P Hariprasad while the TDP nominated party leader C Ramachandraiah from Annayamayya for the two berths under the MLAs quota.

Of the two berths, one fell vacant following the disqualification of Ramachandraiah after he left the YSRCP and joined the TDP ahead of the general elections. The other vacancy arose after YSRCP MLC Mohammad Iqbal resigned from the party and joined the TDP.

Interestingly, both the TDP and Jana Sena candidates belong to the Kapu community, a forward caste in Andhra unlike in Telangana where they are classified as a backward community.

Former police officer Iqbal resigned from the council after leaving the YSRCP but the TDP did not renominate him.

Hailing from the Anantapur district, Iqbal represented the YSRCP in his unsuccessful fight against TDP’s Nandamuri Balakrishna from Hindupur in the 2019 Assembly elections.

The YSRCP later gave him a council berth, which he resigned ahead of the general elections.

Also Read: Deputy CM Pawan Kalyan refuses to take salary citing lack of funds

Political careers

Ramachandraiah is a chartered account from Gudlavaripally in Lakkiredypally Mandal in the Annamayya district. Originally a TDP leader, he had won the Assembly election in 1985 from Kadapa. He was elected to the Rajya Sabha twice as a TDP candidate and served as the party’s politburo member in the past.

Ramachandraiah left the TDP and joined the Praja Rajyam Party in 2008 founded by film actor Chiranjeevi. After the thespian merged his party with the Congress, Ramachandraiah automatically became its member.

He served as a minister in the Kiran Kumar Reddy Cabinet in 2011. In 2018, he joined the YSRCP and served as its general secretary and official spokesperson. He was elected to the legislative council in 2021 but he left the party in January 2024, which led to his disqualification.

Jana Sena MLC nominee P Hariprasad comes from Eluru in West Godavari. He worked as a journalist in various capacities in both print and electronic media for more than two decades. He joined JSP after Pwan Kalyan founded the party in 2014 and has been his political secretary ever since.

(With PTI inputs)

(South First is now on WhatsApp and Telegram)