Post poll violence in Andhra Pradesh: Clashes in Tadipatri; Section 144 in force

Three leaders were reportedly escorted to other locations by the police to restore peace, and Section 144 is in force in Tadipatri.

BySouth First Desk

Published May 15, 2024 | 3:48 PMUpdatedMay 15, 2024 | 3:48 PM

TDP cadre hoist party flag on YSRCP MLA's residence

Violence and clashes continued in Andhra Pradesh, even on Wednesday, 15 May, two days after the state voted for both Lok Sabha and Assembly elections.

The clashes have primarily been between the factions of the ruling YSRCP and the Opposition TDP.

In Tadipatri of the Anantapur district, TDP candidate Ashmit Reddy and his father JC Prabhakar Reddy had their followers hoist the TDP flag on the residence of sitting YSRCP MLA Kethireddy Pedda Reddy on Tuesday, 14 May.

In the ensuing chaos, police personnel, including CI Murali Krishna, were injured, and an SP vehicle was damaged.

Three leaders were reportedly escorted to other locations by the police to restore peace, and Section 144 is in force in the area.

Meanwhile on Tuesday, 14 May, in Tadipatri, a BSF jawan sustained an eye injury when TDP and YSRCP men pelted stones at each other. Tensions escalated in Om Shanthi Nagar in Tadipatri when the two groups clashed.

Also Read: Palnadu district in Andhra Pradesh tense after TDP workers unleash violence post elections

Tensions prevail in Palnadu

Similarly, in Palnadu, the state police have issued the 144 section in the district.

Police have also placed three ruling YSRCP MLAs—Macherla MLA Pinnelli Ramakrishna Reddy and his brother Venkata Rami Reddy, Narasaraopeta MLA Gopireddy Srinivasa Reddy, and Gurazala MLA Kasu Mahesh Reddy, under house arrest to restore law and order in the region.

The TDP cadres in Palnadu stormed into Kothaganeshunipadu village on Monday night and attacked people, they said.

According to the official, there were nearly a dozen clashes reported in Palnadu district.

At Narasaropet in the district, police fired rubber bullets to disperse a crowd that was apparently about to attack YSRCP candidate G Srinivas after an argument between him and the TDP workers.

Polling was held for 175 Assembly and 25 Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh on 13 May. While Andhra Pradesh recorded 80.86 percent voter turnout with 3.38 crore voters.

Also Read: BJP accuses YSR Congress of attacking NDA alliance workers during polls