Leaders congratulate PM Modi on third term; KTR wishes a successful tenure in serving people

Narendra Modi was sworn in for a third consecutive term as prime minister, at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on Sunday.

BySouth First Desk

Published Jun 10, 2024 | 10:14 AMUpdatedJun 10, 2024 | 10:14 AM

Prime Minister Narendra Modi taking the oath

Leaders cutting across party lines congratulated Prime Minister Narendra Modi on being sworn in for a third consecutive term.

BRS working president and former Telangana minister KT Rama Rao on Sunday, 9 June, wished Modi and his Cabinet colleagues a successful tenure.

“Congratulations to Sri @narendramodi Ji on a consecutive 3rd term as Prime Minister of India. Wishing you and your colleagues in the NDA Government a successful tenure in serving the people of our great nation,” Rama Rao said in a post on social media platform X.

YSRCP chief YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, too, congratulated Narendra Modi for taking oath as the Prime Minister of India.

In a post on ‘X’, he said: “My heartfelt congratulations to Narendra Modi on taking oath as the Prime Minister of India for the third consecutive term.”

Reddy-led YSRCP suffered a humiliating electoral defeat in the recently concluded simultaneous Lok Sabha and Legislative Assembly polls in Andhra Pradesh.

YSRCP won 11 Assembly seats out of 175 and four Lok Sabha seats out of 25.

Related: List of ministers from South India in PM Modi Cabinet

NDA ally congratulates Modi

Andhra Pradesh chief minister-designate and BJP ally N Chandrababu Naidu congratulated Narendra Modi.

He also wished him a successful and fulfilling tenure, devoted to his vision of a ‘Viksit Bharat’ (developed India).

“On behalf of the people of Andhra Pradesh, I congratulate Modi on being sworn in as the prime minister of India for a remarkable third consecutive term,” he said in a post on X on Sunday.

Naidu also extended congratulations to all the newly sworn-in NDA cabinet ministers and Ministers of State (MoS), wishing them a successful tenure.

“May this ceremony mark the beginning of a new era of growth, development and prosperity for our nation,” Naidu added.

The southern state received three ministerial berths in the newly sworn in NDA government—one cabinet and two MoS.

TDP’s Srikakulam MP K Ram Mohan Naidu has been inducted into the Union Cabinet while Narasapuram MP B Srinivasa Varma and Guntur MP P Chandra Sekhar have been made ministers of state.

The NDA comprising TDP, BJP and Jana Sena won a landslide victory in the recently concluded simultaneous Lok Sabha and Assembly elections with a brute majority of 164 Assembly and 21 Parliamentary seats.

“I convey my gratitude to the people of India and NDA leadership for entrusting me with a central ministerial responsibility,” said Chandra Sekhar in a post on X.

Promising to execute his duties well, he also vowed to work for the welfare of the people and the nation’s progress.

Celebrating Varma’s success at Bhimavaram in West Godavari district, his wife Venkateswari Devi said, “Today is the happiest day in our lives. BJP has recognised his 34 years of efforts and gave him this minister position.”

While congratulating Modi, Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah expressed hope that the new government would provide the state its due share.

Related: Amit Shah, Gadkari, Rajnath, Piyush Goyal among 30 Cabinet ministers of Modi govt

(With PTI inputs)